The Big Ten Conference, CIC and APLU

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln is a member of the Big Ten Conference, the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) and the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU).

About the Big Ten Conference

The Big Ten Conference is a union of world-class academic institutions who share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. The conference’s 100-plus years of history, strong tradition of competitive intercollegiate athletic programs, vast and passionate alumni base, and consistent leadership in innovations position the Big Ten and its entire community firmly on the Big Stage.

The Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness in all aspects of its student-athletes’ lives, with the ultimate goal of ensuring that each individual has the opportunity to live a Big Life.

Big Ten universities make up, along with the University of Chicago, the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, a consortium formed in 1958 as the conference’s academic counterpart.

From the Big Ten website

By the Numbers

Institution Location
Founded Undergrad Enrollment
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Champaign, Illinois
1867 30,895
Indiana University Bloomington, Indiana
1820 30,394
University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa
1847 20,907
University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Michigan
1817 26,083
Michigan State University East Lansing, Michigan
1855 36,072
University of Minnesota Minneapolis, Minnesota
1851 38,645
University of Nebraska–Lincoln Lincoln, Nebraska
1869 18,526
Northwestern University Evanston, Illinois
1851 8,284
Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio
1870 40,212
Pennsylvania State University University Park, Pennsylvania
1855 38,630
Purdue University West Lafayette, Indiana
1869 31,290
University of Wisconsin–Madison Madison, Wisconsin
1848 29,153

About the Committee on Institutional Cooperation

The Committee on Institutional Cooperation is a consortium of the Big Ten universities plus the University of Chicago. The CIC leverages faculty, funding, facilities, investments and ideas to help the collective whole compete and succeed.

Among its core projects are:

  • library collections and access
  • technology collaborations to build capacity at reduced costs
  • leveraging purchasing and licensing through economies of scale
  • leadership and development programs for faculty and staff
  • study-abroad collaborations
  • course-sharing mechanisms by which students may take courses at other consortium institutions

About the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities

The Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities is a non-profit association of 218 public research universities, land-grant institutions, and state university systems with member campuses in all 50 states, U.S. territories and the District of Columbia. All Big Ten Institutions except for Northwestern University are APLU members.

With roots going back to 1887, APLU is the nation’s oldest higher education association. APLU is dedicated to advancing learning, discovery and engagement. The association provides a forum for the discussion and development of policies and programs affecting higher education and the public interest.