MINUTES April 26, 2023

University of Nebraska – Lincoln Academic Planning Committee

Members Present: Ankerson, Boehm, Button, Clarke, Davis, Doll, Drake, Heng-Moss, Hiatt, Kelley, Latta Konecky, Moriyama, Mowat, Ourada, Theiss-Morse, Tschetter, Vuran, Wilhelm, Haverkost, Haake

Members Absent:

Note: These are not verbatim minutes. This is a summary of the discussions at the Academic Planning Committee meeting as corrected by those participating.

1.0 Call

Tschetter called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m.

2.0 Approval of April 19, 2023 Minutes

Tschetter asked if there were any revisions to the minutes. Hearing none she asked for a motion to approve the minutes. Doll moved, Heng-Moss seconded approval of the minutes which were then approved by the APC.

3.0 Budget Reduction Process

Tschetter reminded the APC that the budget reduction discussions were confidential. The Committee then discussed the questions that were raised by various members of the APC and the answers that were provided by the Chancellor's office, EVC Ankerson, and VC Boehm. Davis moved that the APC submit in writing to the Chancellor general support for the rebasing of IANR but would get additional information from VC Boehm by May 12th on the proposed budget reductions. Doll seconded the motion, discussion followed, and then the motion was approved by the APC.

The APC discussed whether to hold hearings for people being affected by the budget reductions. The Committee decided it would be best to get written comments from people via a fillable webform. The Committee would then review any comments submitted and discuss them at the May 17th meeting. Kelley asked if a reply to the comments would be posted so that they know that the APC considered the comments that were made. Tschetter noted that after submitting their comments a message could be sent that thanks the person for their feedback noting that the APC will be reviewing each feedback received.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:27 p.m. The next meeting of the APC will be on Wednesday, May 10, 2023. The minutes are respectfully submitted by Karen Griffin, Coordinator.