APC Discussion Sessions - FY 2003-04 & 2004-05 Budget Reduction Process


Memorandum
The Academic Planning Committee's Open Discussion Sessions and Hearings
UNL Budget Reduction Process, 2003-04/2004-05 - Phase One
MARCH 18, 2003

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln Academic Planning Committee has scheduled a series of discussion sessions and hearings to gather information on budget reductions proposed for the university. The sessions and hearings are open to the public. Speakers wanting to provide written testimony for the Committee should bring 18 copies to the session for distribution. The schedule follows:

Budget Reduction Proposal
  Date: March 26, 2003
  Place: Nebraska Union Auditorium (City Campus)
  1:30pm: Those wanting to testify sign in.
  2-4pm: Open Hearing on Any Phase 1 Budget Reduction Proposal

Open Discussion Session on the Proposed Elimination of the Bureau of Business Research, and an Open Hearing on Any Phase 1 Budget Reduction Proposal
  Date: March 31, 2003
  Place: East Campus Union (Room to be posted
  12:30pm: Those wanting to testify at the Open Hearing, sign in.
  1-3pm: Invited Discussion Session on the BBR, followed by an Open Hearing on any Phase 1 Budget Reduction Proposal, if a continuation of the March 26 Open Hearing is required.

Open Video Conference on the Proposed Elimination of State Funding for the Nebraska Statewide Arboretum, the Nebraska Forest Service and the Veterinary Student Contract Program.
  Date: April 7, 2003
  Sites: Room 116 L.W. Chase Hall, East Campus, Lincoln (Origination Site)
    South Central REC Building Auditorium at the Meat Animal Research Center, located on State Spur 18D, 4 miles west of Clay Center
    West Central Research & Extension Center, 461 West University Drive, North Platte
    Northeast Community College, Electronics Bldg., Room E104, 801 East Benjamin Avenue, Norfolk
    Panhandle Research & Extension Center, Room 208, 4502 Avenue I, Scottsbluff
  Times: 2:00-2:30pm CDT (1:00-1:30pm MDT) UNL Vice Chancellor John Owens testifies from Lincoln and answers Academic Planning Committee questions
    2:30-3:10 CDT (1:30-2:10 MDT) Testimony from Lincoln and APC questions
    3:10-3:50 CDT (2:10-2:50 MDT) Testimony from Clay Center and APC questions
    3:50-4:30 CDT (2:50-3:30 MDT) Testimony from Norfolk and APC questions
    4:30-5:10 CDT (3:30-4:10 MDT) Testimony from North Platte and APC questions
    5:10-5:50 CDT (4:10-4:50 MDT) Testimony from Scottsbluff and APC questions
    5:50-5:55 CDT (4:50-4:55 MDT) Wrap-up from Lincoln
    Video Conference can be viewed on Neb*Sat Channel 107 from 2:00 to 5:55 pm CDT (1:00 to 4:55 MDT). Those wishing to testify should sign in at least 15 min. ahead of their site's scheduled time. The order and number of persons testifying within the time available will be coordinated by a moderator/facilitator at each site. Written presentations instead of or in addition to oral testimony may be sent to John Benson, APC Secretary, 332 Canfield Administration Building, UNL, Lincoln, NE 68588-0435.

Open Discussion Session on the Proposed Elimination of the Research Division of the Museum and the Masters Degree Program in Museum Studies
  Date: April 9, 2003
  Place: East Campus Union (room to be posted)
  2-5pm: APC will hear testimony from invited presenters

Open Discussion Session on Proposed Budget Reductions in the Divisions of Business and Finance, and Student Affairs
  Date: April 11, 2003
  Place: Wick Alumni Center, Dana Board Room
  9am-12noon: APC will hear testimony from invited presenters