General Budget Framework Document FY 2010-2011 - Budget Timeline

General Budget Framework Document
FY 2010-2011
January 29, 2010

Governor, Legislative, and Regent's Budget Timeline
Legislative Session Begins Legislature January 6, 2010
Legislative Session Ends Legislature April 14, 2010 (approx)
University Budget Adopted Board of Regents June 11, 2010
Fiscal Year Ends   June 30, 2010

UNL Budget Reduction Process
TaskBy WhomParticipantsDate for Completion
Discuss budget problem with general amounts and general time frame Chancellor Cabinet, APC, FSE, DD, UNOPA, UAAD, ASUN1 Complete
Develop preliminary general budget framework to include: Reduction total; reduction assignments to units; time lines; restraints, guidelines Chancellor and Vice Chancellors   Jan. 4-15, 2010
Present preliminary general budget framework to joint meeting of Cabinet and APC Chancellor Cabinet & APC (joint meeting) Jan. 21, 2010
Review general budget framework and make recommendations to Chancellor APC    
Adopt final general budget framework and make public Chancellor   Jan. 29, 2010
Specific budget proposals developed and submitted to Vice Chancellors DD Vice Chancellors No later than March 1, 2010
Tentative budget proposals presented Vice Chancellors Cabinet, Chancellor *
Budget proposals adopted Chancellor   Ongoing
Briefing on budget proposals Chancellor APC, FSE, DD, UNOPA, UADD, ASUN *
Proposals formally forwarded to APC and made public Chancellor   *
Hearings for affected units APC   *
Recommendations on proposals APC Chancellor *
Discussion of recommendations Chancellor APC/Cabinet *
Announcement of final budget recommendations Chancellor   *

* To be determined as external budget process unfolds

1 The "Cabinet" referred to in the Procedures Document no longer exists. For purposes of this procedure, when the Cabinet is referred to it shall mean the Senior Administrative Team, the President of the Academic Senate, the President of ASUN, the President of UNOPA, and the President of UAAD. APC is the Academic Planning Committee. FSE is the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. DD is the Deans and Directors.