Commencement and Honors Convocations Committee

2017-2018 MEMBERS

NAME EMAIL TERM
Julie Grives, Graduate Student Assembly jgrives2@unl.edu May 2018
Scott Fuess, Economics sfuess1@unl.edu August 2018
Vanessa Gorman, History vgorman1@unl.edu August 2018
Kelli Britten, Advertising kjohns2@unl.edu August 2020
Marilyn Grady, Educational Administration mgrady1@unl.edu August 2020
Bill Nunez, Associate to the Chancellor bill.nunez@unl.edu cont.
Robert Gorman, Head Marshall rgorman1@unl.edu cont.
 Megan Scherling, Designee for the VC for Student Affairs mscherling3@unl.edu cont.
Rich Morrell, Office of University Registrar richard.morrell@unl.edu cont.
Annette Wetzel, University Communications awetzel1@unl.edu cont.
Scott Anderson, School of Music sanderson7@unl.edu cont.
Shelley Zaborowski, Alumni Association szaborowski@huskeralum.org cont.
Patrice Berger, University Honors Program pberger1@unl.edu cont.

 

STRUCTURE

 The Commencement and Honors Convocations Committee shall consist of 10 voting members  members:

 (a) four faculty members appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate

(b) the Head Marshal of the Marshal Corps;

(c) two upper class students and one graduate student selected as determined by ASUN

(d) the Director of the Honors Program

(e) Chancellor or designee

Plus the following non-voting members:

(a) Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or designee

(b) Representative of the Office of the University Registrar

(c) Representative of the Office of University Communications

(d) Representative from the School of Music

(e) Representative from the Alumni Association

Voting members of the Commencement and Honors Convocations Committee are:  the four faculty members, two upper class students and one graduate student, Director of the Honors Program, and Chancellor or designee.  The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or designee, the Representative of the Registration and Records Office, the Represenative of the Office of University Communications, and the School of Music Representative are non-voting members.  The term for the four faculty members is three years.  The term for the upper class students and gradute student are for one year.  The term for the other members is continuous.

RESPONSIBILITIES

1. The Commencement and Honors Convocations Committee (CHCC) shall be primarily responsible for coordinating plans for commencement and honors convocations. The program and arrangement for UNL commencement and honors ceremonies shall be subject to approval by a majority of the voting members of the CHCC. Those responsible for developing the specific programs and arrangements, including the Chancellor or designee, the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or designee, and/or other UNL staff members, will seek review and approval of the CHCC in a timely and appropriate fashion.

2. The CHCC shall especially authorize the preparation of appropriate certificates and awards to be presented during these ceremonies in accord with provision of the Faculty Senate governing honors, awards or recognitions for scholarship. The CHCC shall also be responsible for coordinating academic honors to be bestowed upon students during commencement exercises.

 3. The CHCC shall establish a regular procedure for ensuring the maintenance of an adequate Marshal Corps and shall evaluate the role of the Marshal Corps annually.

4. The Committee shall report regularly to the Faculty Senate, and recommend changes in these policies and provisions if and when it is deemed appropriate to do so.

Operating Procedures and Guidelines Adopted by the CHCC:

The committee shall file in the Faculty Senate Office (a) minutes of its meetings, and (b) a current statement of operating procedures and guidelines adopted by the committee itself. For more information on this committee and general Faculty Senate rules governing its operation see the Preface.