University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Faculty Senate


James A. Lake Academic Freedom Award


The James A. Lake Academic Freedom Award, established in 1980 and supported by a generous contribution by former Regent Ed Schwartzkopf, is given by the Faculty Senate based on nominations made by the James A. Lake Academic Freedom Award Committee.  The Award recognizes an individual whose efforts have helped to preserve the most basic freedom of all, the freedom to seek and communicate the truth.


The recipient of the award is presented with a plaque at a spring meeting of the Faculty Senate and asked to address the Senate on relevant issues.  A reception honoring the recipient is held immediately after the meeting.  To ensure that the principles of academic freedom are remembered in decision making at UNL, the recipient’s name will be etched along with those of previous recipients of the award on a permanent plaque in the Conference Room of UNL’s Chancellor. 


            -           List of Previous Winners of the James A. Lake Academic Freedom Award


            -           Eligibility Requirements and Nomination Form