Teaching Council

2016-2017 MEMBERS

NAME EMAIL TERM
Raeda Anderson, GSA raedaanderson@gmail.com May 2018
Erica Miller, GSA erica.miller@huskers.unl.edu May 2018
ASUN August 2017
ASUN August 2017
Scott Napilitano, Educational Psychology (CHAIR) snapilitano2@unl.edu August 2017
Deepak Keshwani, Biological Systems Engineering (Dean's Appointee) dkeshwani2@unl.edu August 2016
David Jones, College of Engineering (Dean's Appointee) david.jones@unl.edu August 2016
Jonathan Markham, Biochemistry jemarkham@unl.edu August 2019
Sandra Zellmer, Law szellmer2@unl.edu August 2019
Amy Burnett, History aburnett1@unl.edu August 2018
Yvonne Lai, Mathematics yvonne.xlai@unl.edu August 2018
Elzabeth Ingraham, Art & Art History eingraham2@unl.edu August 2018
Judy Walker, Interim Assoicate VC Academic Affairs judy.walker@unl.edu cont.
Laurie Bellows, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies lbellows1@unl.edu cont.

STRUCTURE

The Teaching Council shall consist of the Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (or designee), the Dean of Graduate Studies, two members chosen by the collegiate deans, six faculty members appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate and four students, including at least one graduate student, appointed by ASUN. The Chair of the Teaching Council shall be one of the appointed faculty members. Members shall be chosen in such a manner as to represent the spectrum of instructional programs at UNL as widely as possible, and no more than three members may be persons who hold administrative positions of department chairperson or higher. Terms of faculty members shall be three years.

RESPONSIBILITIES

The Council shall have major responsibility for the encouragement and support of efforts to improve instruction and learning at all levels at UNL. Funds appropriated specifically for improvement of instruction and learning and made available to the Council by the Chancellor shall be expended with the advice of the Teaching Council.

To fulfill its mission, the Teaching Council will assist in the selection of recipients of campus teaching awards including the Sorenson, OTICA, UDTA, and the ADT; it will participate in the review of and nomination for Teaching and Learning seed grants; it will support and promote initiatives to enhance the quality of instruction at UNL, such as the Century Club; and it will interface and collaborate with other campus bodies, such as the Academy of Distinguished Teachers, to nurture teaching excellence across the campus.

*Source: UNL Bylaws, Section 1.9.9