Department Representatives--does your department need a rep?

The GSA Legislative Assembly is comprised of representatives from each department on campus with a graduate program as well a representatives from each campus. Department representatives are responsible for bringing issues forward and for relaying pertinent information to students in their departments. Department representatives also sit on one of our committees.

Having strong representation among all departments at UNL allows GSA to further their mission of improving graduate student lives thereby enhancing the conditions for quality graduate research.

Representatives are chosen from within their department. Some departments vote on their representative while others simply ask for a volunteer. Search the list below to see if you department is represented. If not, feel free to email us or talk to your departmental graduate chair or secretary to find out more information. If your department's representative is not listed below, please have them email us.

Benefits to a graduate student representative include:

  • Networking with graduate students within and outside their department on a social and academic level
  • Inclusion in important decisions and changes for graduate students
  • Familiarity with campus administrators and their roles within the system
  • Knowledge of university structure and policies
  • Leadership Development opportunities
  • Service opportunities (via university committees)

Benefits to those in a represented department include:

  • Becoming more informed of local, regional, and national issues impacting graduate students
  • Networking with graduate students outside and within their department via GSA events
  • Knowing how to solve graduate student issues
  • Knowledge of university events for graduate students
Accountancy Matt Bjornsen Email
Actuarial Science Akshi Jain Email Professional Development
Agricultural Economics Mustapha Alhassan Email
Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication Jaye Stentz Email Professional Development Chair
Agronomy & Horticulture Nathan Abshire Email Representation
Animal Science Katie Ochsner Email Social
Anthropology Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Architecture Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Art & Art History Katherine Norgard Email Representation
Biochemistry Samantha Swenson Email
Biological Sciences Chelsea Stehle Email Academic Affairs and Internal Research
Biological Systems Engineering Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Wheaton Shroeder Email
Chemistry Jonathan Catazaro Email Academic Affairs and Internal Research
Child, Youth & Family Studies Tuyen Huynh Email Academic Affairs and Internal Research
Civil Engineering Li Zhao Email Representation
Communication Studies Gretchen Bergquist Email Academic Affairs and Internal Research
Community &amp Regional Planning Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Computer Science & Engineering Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Durham School of Architectural Engineering & Construction Arefeh Mohammadi Email Quality of Life and Diversity
Earth &amp Atmospheric Sciences Shamar Chin Email Quality of Life and Diversity
Economics Wanted for 2015-2016 Email Quality of Life and Diversity
Educational Administration Jordan Gonzales Email Constitution and Elections
Educational Psychology Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Electrical Engineering Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
English Cameron Steele Email
Entomology Adriano Pereira Email Professional Development
Finance Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Food Science & Technology Soon Kiat Lau Email Finance
History Christy Hyman Email
Interior Design Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Journalism & Mass Communications Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Legal Studies Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Management Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Marketing Arvind Agrawal Email Finance
Mathematics Meggan Hass Email
MBA Jake Birch Email Professional Development
Mechanical & Materials Engineering Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Modern Languages & Literatures Miguel Santamaria Email Academic Affairs and Internal Research
Music and Dance Kristen Swenson Email Social
Nutrition & Health Sciences Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Philosophy Joey Dante Email
Physics & Astronomy Nathan Clayburn Email Finance
Plant Pathology Julianne Matczyszyn Email Professional Development
Political Science Julia Reilly Email Professional Development
Psychology Courtney Boise Email Academic Affairs and Internal Research
School of Natural Resources Zac Warren Email External--Course and Lab Fees Committee
Sociology Rosalind Kichler Email Quality of Life and Diversity
Special Education & Communication Disorders Jessie Patterson Email Representation
Statistics Jessica Hauschild Email Quality of Life and Diversity
Survey Research &amp Methodology Lissandra Ellyne Email
Teaching, Learning and Teacher Education Brandy Judkins Email Social Chair
Textiles, Merchandising & Fashion Design Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Theater and Film Wanted for 2015-2016 Email
Veterinary & Biomedical Sciences Wanted for 2015-2016 Email