NeWP Leadership

NeWP Leadership


Board members at St. Benedict
pen and ink
Writers walking along Missouri River, small boat

Advisory Board

Robert Brooke

Director
Robert Brooke
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
402-472-1807
rbrooke1@unl.edu

Danielle Helzer

Co-Director
Danielle Helzer
Burke High School, Omaha
402-557-3200
helzerdm@gmail.com

Beverly Hoistad

Co-Director
Beverly Hoistad
Pyrtle Elementary, Lincoln
402-436-1162
bhoista@lps.org

Brenda Larabee

Co-Director
Brenda Larabee
Stuart Public School
402-924-3302
blarabee@esu8.org

Jenny Razor

Co-Director
Jenny Razor
Burke High School, Omaha
bahle.jenny@gmail.com

Daniel Boster

Daniel Boster
Ralston High School
402-331-7373
daniel_boster@ralstonschools.org

Jeff Grinvalds

Tech Liaison
Jeff Grinvalds
Westside High School, Omaha
402-250-6646
jgrinvalds@cox.net

Mary Collier

Mary Collier
Papillion-La Vista High School
402-898-0400
mcollier@paplv.org

Sharon Bishop

Sharon Bishop
402-723-4434
bishopSharon11@gmail.com

Jennifer Bruck

Jennifer Bruck
402-650-9225
jennifer_bruck@ralstonschools.org

Deb Coyle

Deb Coyle
Sheridan Elementary School, Lincoln
402-436-1167
DCCoyle72@aol.com

Melanie Farber

Melanie Farber
Lincoln North Star High School,
Retired
melaniefarber@hotmail.com

Lauren Funk

Lauren Funk
Pius X High School, Lincoln
402-436-1305 ext 65276
Lauren.Funk@piusx.net

Katrina Gotschall

Katrina Gotschall
O'Neill High School
402-336-1544
kgotschall@esu8.org

Paula Hohman

Paula Hohman Anderson
Louisville Public Schools
402-234-3585
phohman@esu3.org

Darin Jensen

Darin Jensen
Metro Community College, Omaha
darin.l.jensen@gmail.com

 Jan Knispel

Jan Knispel
Valentine High School, retired
jknispel@gmail.com

Kim Larson

Kim Larson
Nebraska Department of Education
402-440-2579
kim.larson@nebraska.gov

Ashley Mundil

Ashley Mundil
Pyrtle Elementary, Lincoln
402-436-1162
acmundil@hotmail.com

Amy Tasich

Amy Tasich
Elkhorn South High School
402-289-0616
atasich@gmail.com

Jennifer Troester

Jennifer Troester
O'Neill High School
402-336-1544
selt33@gmail.com

Diana Weis

Diana Weis
Cather Elementary, Millard
dweis@mpsomaha.org

NeWP Leadership Positions

The NeWP Advisory Board is a group of 20 – 25 teachers representing rural, urban, and suburban communities in the state who give advice, direction, and leadership to the Nebraska Writing Project.

Advisory Board Member Job Description
NeWP Advisory Board Members are involved in the following:

  • evaluating the NeWP site in relation to the NWP’s model, as well as the NeWP’s many networks and initiatives
  • advising the NeWP Director and Co-Directors on the development and initiation of new programs to serve Nebraska’s teachers better
  • providing leadership in the many NeWP programs, especially inservice and continuity programs

Appointments to the Advisory Board are made for a three-year renewable term, which begin at the summer NeWP Board Retreat. Attendance at the semi-annual Advisory Board Retreats in January and July is expected.


Technology Liaisons

The technology liaisons oversee the technology-based work of the Nebraska Writing Project. The technology liaisons work with the director and co-directors to coordinate the technology-based projects that support NeWP programs. In addition to monthly meetings with NeWP leadership, the technology liaisons serve on the NeWP advisory board.  The technology liaisons also maintain and implement technology for NeWP programs not supported by UNL, including but not limited to the NeWP interactive sites located on an off-campus server.

The technology liaisons are current or former teachers with an interest and expertise in educational technology who have the ability to work well with other teachers and NeWP leadership. The technology liaisons demonstrate a commitment to the Nebraska Writing Project and understand how the use of technology enhances the teaching of writing.

The term of appointment is four years and may be renewed for an additional term.  Funds may available for travel to national conferences.

Applications for this position are made to the director. The director chooses technology liaison in consultation with co-directors.



Co-Directors

Co-Directors advise the director in setting priorities for Nebraska Writing Project (NeWP) activities and support the NeWP director in initiating and overseeing all aspects of the Nebraska Writing Project, including the following:

  • budget
  • institutes
  • inservice offerings
  • continuity programs
  • teacher research
  • partnerships with Nebraska education institutions and community programs.

Co-directors may also initiate new NeWP programs, oversee existing programs, and secure grants to support and develop NeWP programs.

One co-director leaves the leadership team on a rotating basis at the end of each year. Applications for this position are made to the director. The director chooses incoming co-director after consultation with current co-directors. While the needs of NeWP at a given time are the priority, an effort is made to have the four co-directors represent the diversity of Nebraska's schools along grade level and geographic lines. Co-directors are experienced teachers in the NeWP network, have established their commitment to NeWP, and demonstrated leadership skills by serving on the NeWP advisory board or in other NeWP programs.

Co-director terms begin and end at summer board retreat, and the appointment is four years. Co-directors attend monthly meetings and collaborate with director to plan winter and summer board retreats. The stipend is $750.00 per year. Additional funds may be available for travel to NWP events and conferences.