Professor Daniel R. Claes

The Dzero Experiment

The Cosmic Ray Observatory Project

CMS

Underground Neutrino Observatory

Henderson Mine Project


Professor & Chair
Department of Physics & Astronomy
Experimental High Energy Physics
University of Nebraska-Lincoln


Graduate student support available with the Cosmic Ray Observatory Project

Curriculum vitae, including publications

Contact info:
Professor Daniel R. Claes
Department of Physics & Astronomy
208B Jorgensen Hall
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska 68588-0299
Phone: (402) 472-2783
Fax: (402) 472-6148
dclaes@unl.edu

Postdocs supervised:
Suvadeep Bose
(stationed permanently at Fermilab’s LHC Physics Center)

sbose@unl.edu

Graduate students supervised:
Soundararajan Rajendran
Computer Science (M.S. expected May 2015)
srajendran2@unl.edu

Undergraduates supervised:
Shelby Clausen
sclausen3@unl.edu

Andrew House
ahouse2@unl.edu

Erik Johnson
ejohnson16@unl.edu

Aniruddha Joshi
ajoshi3@unl.edu

Savanna McDonald
smcdona9@unl.edu

Ethan VanWinkle
  


Teaching Assignments

Fall 2013: PHYS 462
Nuclear Physics

Fall 2013: PHYS 998
Graduate Seminar

Research Interests
Recent Talks Given
Comic Book Physics 101 – Lesson 1: The Origin of Superman and Clues to the Planet Krypton
Grand Lodge at the Preserve
Lincoln, Nebraska
21 November 2013

Comic Book Physics 101 – Lesson 5: Hard Take-offs and Soft Landings
Southeast Nebraska Library Association
Nebraska City, Nebraska
08 November 2013

Comic Book Physics 101 – Lesson 4: Superheroes Dissassembled
Southeast Nebraska Library Association
Nebraska City, Nebraska
08 November 2013

Are We Alone? The Fermi Paradox and Drake’s Equation
Southlake Village Rehab & Care Center
Lincoln, Nebraska
05 November 2013
 
More talks available on CV.

Talks on YouTube
Comic Book Physics 101 - Part 1
Comic Book Physics 101 - Part 2
Comic Book Physics 101 - Part 3
Comic Book Physics 101 - Part 4
Comic Book Physics 101 - Part 5