The Center for Great Plains Studies is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2011 Great Plains Distinguished Book Prize. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, May 2, 2012.

The Great Plains Distinguished Book Prize was created to emphasize the interdisciplinary importance of the Great Plains in today’s publishing and educational market. Only first edition, full-length, nonfiction books published in 2011 were evaluated for the award. The author of the winning title will receive a $5,000 cash prize and will be invited to present a lecture at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln.


Debating Texas Identity: Where the West Begins by Glen Sample Ely

Debating Texas Identity
Where the West Begins

Glen Sample Ely, Fort Worth Texas
Forward by Alwyn Barr

Texas Tech University Press

Principle over Party by R. Alton Lee

Principle over Party

R. Alton Lee, Professor Emeritus of History, University of South Dakota

South Dakota State
Historical Society Press

The Northern Cheyenne Exodus in Hsitory and Memory by James N. Leiker, Ramon Powers

The Northern Cheyenne Exodus in History and Memory

James N. Leiker, Associate Professor of History, Johnson County Community College

Ramon Powers, former Executive Director of the Kansas State Historical Society

University of Oklahoma Press


Susaning the Cherokee Family: Kinship and the Allotment of an Indigenous Nation by Rose Stremlau

Sustaining the Cherokee Family
Kinship and the Allotment of an Indigenous Nation

Rose Stremlau, Assistant Professor of History, University of North Carolina at Pembroke

The University of North Carolina


The Notorious Dr. Flippin by Jamie Q. Tallman

The Notorious Dr. Flippin

Jamie Q. Tallman, Lincoln, Nebraska

Texas Tech University Press

Will Rogers: A Political Life by Richard D. White, Jr.

Will Rogers
A Political Life

Richard D. White, Jr., Professor of Public Administration, Louisiana State University

Texas Tech University Press