UNL News Releases 03/28/01

Contact: Kristi Routh, Alumni Association - (402) 472-4225


Lincoln (Neb.) - March 23, 2001 - The University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications Alumni Association will present four Awards of Excellence at the 10th annual Journalism Awards Banquet April 6 at the Wick Alumni Center in Lincoln.

- Lyle Denniston, '55, will receive the Outstanding News-Editorial Alumnus Award. A Nebraska City native, Denniston has spent most of his 52 years as a journalist covering the U.S. Supreme Court for East Coast newspapers. He worked for the Washington Star and the Wall Street Journal before taking a job with the Baltimore Sun for 19 years. In February, he became the Supreme Court correspondent for the Boston Globe. Denniston also has taught journalism, creative writing and law at Georgetown University, Johns Hopkins University and American University. For the last three years, he has taught a course in American constitutional history in the Washington Program of Penn State University. He has written "The Reporter and the Law: Techniques of Covering the Courts" and is working on a second text on constitutional history.

- Lynne Grasz, '66, will receive the Outstanding Advertising Alumnus Award. She is president and CEO of Grasz Communications, an international marketing and public relations firm based in New York City. The Lincoln native's clients have included a television broadcast group, two national magazines, three broadcasting associations, television, film and production companies, motion graphic and print designers, an international photographer, an international fashion designer and several authors. She has won several awards, including two Emmys in St. Louis for on-air news promotion, a national Headliner Award and Religion in Media Award, and an Abe Lincoln Award as producer of "Children's News." The New York Women's Agenda presented her with a Galaxy Woman of the Future award in 2000. A pioneer in many areas, she was the first woman president of the Broadcast Promotion Association (now PROMAX) in 1977.

- Gary Shapiro, '75, will receive the Outstanding Broadcasting Alumnus Award. He is the anchor of "9News Daybreak" and "9News 6 A.M." for KUSA TV, the NBC affiliate in Denver. He also anchors the "9News at Noon" and reports on special projects. Shapiro joined 9News in 1983 as the Boulder bureau reporter and began anchoring the morning shows in 1989. A Norfolk native, he began his broadcast career in Kearney before becoming a weekend anchor for Omaha KETV. For KUSA, he has produced several TV specials and documentaries, including an in-depth look at the Five Points neighborhood in Denver; a yearlong look at the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs; and an examination of Denver's longest street, Colfax Avenue. He has won regional Emmys and the coveted 1992 Edward R. Murrow Award for documentary reporting.

- Charles Bierbauer, CNN's senior Washington correspondent, will be honored with the Outstanding Service to the Journalism Profession Award. Bierbauer covers public policy issues, the U.S. Supreme Court and national legal affairs. As a result of his expertise in national policy and presidential politics, the senior correspondent position was created for him in 1992. He joined CNN in 1981 as the network's defense correspondent. From 1985 to 1995, he hosted CNN's "Newsmaker Saturday," a weekly report featuring in-depth interviews with leading newsmakers. Bierbauer also worked for 12 years as an international journalist. He covered all U.S.-Soviet summits, beginning with the Gerald Ford-Leonid Brezhnev summit in 1975 through the first post-Soviet summit between George H.W. Bush and Boris Yeltsin in 1993.

Back to menu

For questions regarding these releases, contact:
(402) 472-8514, Fax: (402) 472-7825