Skip Navigation

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Nebraska Notables


The University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the primary research and doctoral degree-granting institution in Nebraska. As Nebraska's land-grant university, it serves as the flagship institution of the University of Nebraska system.

Officially chartered on Feb. 15, 1869, the University of Nebraska grew quickly to become one of the nation's leading state universities. With a proud tradition of excellence in research and creative activity, the University of Nebraska was one of the pioneers in research and graduate studies, being the first university west of the Mississippi to form a graduate school and to offer the Ph.D. degree. In 1909 Nebraska became the 18th member of the Association of AmericanUniversities.

Today UNL ranks among the top 50 institutions awarding the most doctoral degrees. It is a major research university, recently ranked in the top 25 among public universities for total endowment assets and new gifts. It is home to top researchers in such areas as plant genomics, remote sensing technologies, molecular virology, bioinformatics, food processing and nanoscale technology.

Consistent with its role as the state's comprehensive institution, UNL offers 149 undergraduate majors and 116 graduate degree programs. With 23,000 students enrolled in classes at UNL, all of Nebraska's 93 counties are represented in the student body, along with students from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and 111 foreign countries.