Interest groups are the essence of the UNL Women’s Club, where our mission statement comes alive. These small groups are where acquaintances develop into friendships.  Our common interests grow into strong bonds, and our desire to serve the University turns into action.  

 Our Interest Groups Include the following:


ARTS & CRAFTS:  meets monthly to make a craft item, 3rd Fridays at 10:30 am. Chair Beth Goble, 402-467-1329, winteringham1@gmail.com.

BOOK CLUB is for all who enjoy reading and discussing books with friends. Each group selects books to be read.
   READING WITH FRIENDS – meets the  1st Wednesday at 9:30 am.  Chair Marla Kraft, 402-570-5707,  
       mkraft@neb.rr.com.

   CHAPTER TWO – meets the 1st Tuesday at 9:30 am.  Chair Dana Sexton, 714-788-0122, dhstoo@aol.com.

BRIDGE groups meet monthly for bridge and friendship. Most groups are open for new and substitute members.

  • BRIDGE I—first Thurs., 11:30 am-3:00 pm, hostess choice.  Chair Kay Lamphere, 402-466-9376, kaylamphere@windstream.net.
  • BRIDGE II—2nd Thurs., 10:30 am, hostess choice.  Play cards and eat lunch at the Grand Lodge. Chair Tina Peterson, 402-421-0938, tinaandal@gmail.com.
  • BRIDGE III—first Thurs., 7:00 pm. New members welcome. Chair Holly Beermann, 402-486-3691, holly.beermann@gmail.com.

  • BRIDGE MARATHON—monthly (Oct-Apr). Chair Marilyn Bernthal, 402-489-0727, mommar68506@yahoo.com.

COLLECTORS feature the collection of a member or guest speaker and is a fun, educational experience.  Members need not be a collector.  Meets most months on 4th Thursday @ 9:30 am.  Chair Betty Anderson, 402-488-5775, blfa@neb.rr.com.

COUPLES GOURMET meets monthly for a dinner with the theme, recipes and date chosen by the host.  Singles welcome.  Chairs Nancy and Bryan Shank, 402-476-4722, nshank@nebraska.edu.

CULINARY ARTS meets monthly with members bringing a dish of choice from a monthly theme selected by the group.

FACULTY DINNER DANCE CLUB - dining and dancing to a live band, Sept-Apr at East Campus Student Union.  Optional dinner 6:30 pm, dancing 7:30-10 pm.  Cost $100 per couple/year or $60/semester.  Individual dances $20 ($25 Dec).   Novice dancers welcome.  A non-member  couple may attend one dance free.  Chairs Elaine and John Grothusen, 1-402-721-2603, elaine@johngrothusen.com.  See Faculty Dance Club page for more information.

FAIR WEATHER FRIENDS - join our new exercise group!  Meets every fair weather Monday, 8am (tentatively) at Holmes Lake for walking, talking, and fitness.  Chair Cheri Peterson, 402-489-0045, 402-429-0792, c.peterson@sheridanlutheran.org

INTERNATIONAL CLUB welcomes everyone.  Monthly programs or lunch outings to learn about other countries and their cultures. Chairs Kelly Powell, 402-484-5281, kpowellnebraska@gmail.com, Kay Rockwell, 402-484-5431, krockwell1@unl.edu.

MEALS ON WHEELS delivers hot meals to the elderly and disabled on a Monday or Tuesday each month. Volunteers needed to serve for 1 to 1-1/2 hours monthly. Chair Chris Read, 402-421-1915, cread@windstream.net.

NEWCOMERS & FRIENDS are new members plus other members of UNLWC who wish to participate in activities. See Newcomers and Friends page for more information.  Chairs Jane McGinnis, 402-730-1012, jane.mcginnis@gmail.com, and Theresa Cornelius, 505-401-5283, cornelius130@gmail.com.

PIECEMAKERS quilting group meets every Tuesday, 9:30 am-noon.  Lessons available to those wanting to learn.  Non-quilters are encouraged to bring a needlework project and join in.  Chair Rogene Silletto, 402-483-6323, trsilletto@windstream.net.

PLAY GROUP provides play time for youngsters and companionship for moms.  Meeting times and places vary.  Chair Joyce Besch, 402-484-0485, joycebesch@gmail.com.

TOWN & GOWN INVESTORS is a group of exploring  investors, both novice and experienced.  Open for new members and always open for visitors.  Meets the 2nd Monday at 7:15 pm, at Eastmont Seasons in their meeting room, Chair and President Joe Schneider, 402-489-2150, joejoe80@juno.com

TRAVEL GROUPS share their love of travel, adventure, experiences, and pictures from around the world. Couples and singles welcome.

  • TRAVEL I – 3rd Sunday, 7:00  pm.  Chairs Sharon Sawyers, 402-489-2006, sharonsawyers@windstream.net and Jan Jensen, 402-489-7496.
  • TRAVEL II – 3rd Sunday, 2:00 pm.  Chair Sue Waldren, 402-499-8595, sue@waldren.net

VARIETY CLUB - Join in a different activity each time we gather (e.g. movie, lunch, discussion, volunteer opportunity, performance, etc.).  Chair Debra Raddatz-Portnoy, 402-420-1766, dblport@yahoo.com.