Awards and Recognitions


Academic Advisor Olivia Miller was honored as a recipient of the Spring 2019 semester Applause award through the College of Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Becky Buller was honored as a recipient of the UNL Parents Association Certificate of Recognition for Contributions to Students. This is her 7th time earning the reward!


Academic Advisor Olivia Miller received the NACADA Region 6, Excellence in Advising - New Advisor Certificate of Merit

Dr. Becky Buller was honored as a recipient of the UNL Parents Association Certificate of Recognition for Contributions to Students. This is her 6th time earning the reward!

Dr. Becky Buller was honored as an honor faculty invitee of the UNL College of Education and Human Sciences Distinguished Graduates Reception


Dr. Emily Hammerl received the College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award


Dr. Emily Hammerl was honored with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Parent's Teaching Award


Associate Professor Carrie Heitman and her colleagues have been awarded a $250,000 National Endowment for the Humanities grant for their Digital Native American and Indigenous Studies Project. The grant will help support three separate three-day workshops devoted to teaching new digital methods and studying matters of preservation and access in Native American studies.

Dr. LuAnn Wandsnider was awarded the Maude Hammond Fling fellowship by the UNL Research Council. As a fellow, she has pursued research on the relationships between people and material culture in late 19th century Custer County, Nebraska.

Professor Raymond Hames was awarded a National Science Foundation grant entitled "Collaborative Research: Demographic and Genealogical Dimensions of Cultural and Biological Success" with Napoleon Chagnon (Univeristy of Missouri).

Professor Raymond Hames delivered the Plenary Address, “An Assessment of Inclusive Fitness Theory in Humans,” at the 27th Annual Human Behavior and Evolution Society Conference convening at the University of Missouri in Columbia, MO.

Dr. Wayne Babchuk has been elected to serve on the Executive Board of the Central States Anthropological Society starting in April 2016.

Dr. Carrie Heitman has been awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities grant for her project, “Salmon Pueblo Archaeological Research Collection.” This $300,000 grant will allow Heitman and a team of researchers to digitize millions of artifacts, specimens and samples from excavations of a 1,000-year-old Ancestral Puebloan structure in northwest New Mexico.

Dr. Carrie Heitman was selected as one of the 2015-2016 American Anthropological Association Leadership Fellows. She will be matched with a member of the AAA Executive Board, to learn more about the range of opportunities for leadership service within the AAA.

Dr. Dan Osborne and Dr. Matt Douglass both received a Certificate of Recognition for Contributions to Students, awarded by the UNL Parents Association. This award depends on students to nominate a faculty or staff member who “has made a significant contribution to their lives while at UNL.”


Dr. Emily Hammerl along with collaborator Dr. Megan Moore (Eastern Michigan) received a grant from the Nestlé Research Center (Taste and Aroma Impact Division; Lausanne, Switzerland) to support their project, “Subadult Mandibular Morphology in an Early Medieval Skeletal Collection from Northern France Compared with Modern Individuals of European Ancestry.”

Dr. LuAnn Wandsnider, with colleague Dr. Christopher Dore and alum John Swigert, was awarded the 2014 Asa T. Hill Memorial Award by the Nebraska State Historical Society. The Asa T. Hill Memorial Award recognizes individuals or groups who have made substantial contributions to Great Plains archaeology. Dore and Wandsnider were recognized for their development of the Nebraska State Cultural Resource GIS, the first in the nation. MA student John Swigert refined the GIS, adding in 2000 a user-friendly graphical user interface that makes Nebraska’s Cultural Resource GIS among the most accessible in the nation.

Accounting Associate Breana Garretson was awarded an Applause Award by the College of Arts and Sciences for her contributions to Anthropology and the College.

Dr. Matt Douglass and Dr. LuAnn Wandsnider have been awarded a cooperative agreement with the National Grasslands Visitor Center to assist the center with outreach regarding the cultural resources of the National Grasslands.