Maria Marron

Dean › College of Journalism & Mass Communications

University of Nebraska-Lincoln • 147 Andersen Hall • Lincoln NE, 68588-0443 • 402.472.3041 •

Maria Marron

Maria B. Marron assumed the deanship of the College of Journalism and Mass Communications in June 2014. Previously she was a professor and chair of the Department of Journalism at Central Michigan University in Mt. Pleasant, Michigan.

She is the current editor of Journalism & Mass Communication Educator, one of three peer-reviewed journals published by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. She is a past president of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, having served over the years on various committees of ASJMC. She is a member of the national Hearst Intercollegiate Journalism Awards Steering Committee. She has chaired the International Communication Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication and has been an officer in various divisions of AEJMC, including the Commission on the Status of Women.

She holds a doctorate in journalism and mass communication from Ohio University. She has a master’s in journalism from The Ohio State University, and a bachelor’s in English, Latin and French, as well as a postgraduate diploma in education from University College Dublin, Ireland. She worked in journalism and public relations in Ireland and in journalism in the United States.

Before assuming her current position at UNL, she served in administrative capacities at University College Dublin, Ireland, where she was director of MBA Programmes, the Smurfit Graduate School of Business, and at Zayed University, Dubai, United Arab Emirates, where she was a member of the planning team for the new College of Communication and Media Sciences, and assistant dean.

She has taught at The Ohio State University, Texas State University-San Marcos and Central Michigan University. Her research interests include investigative journalism with a specific emphasis on the British Isles, ethics, law, and international communication.

« Deans & Directors Page