Academic Integrity Committee*

ACADEMIC INTEGRITY COMMITTEE

2022-2023 Membership

NAME EMAIL ADDRESS TERM
Benjamin Riggan, Electrical & Computer Engineering briggan2@unl.edu August 2023
John Guretzky, Agronomy & Horticulture jguretzky2@unl.edu August 2024
Rupal Mehta, Political Science rmehta2@unl.edu August 2024
Melissa Gomis, University Libraries melissa.gomis@unl.edu August 2025
Kelli King, Assistant VC Student Affairs kelli.king@unl.edu cont.
Dakota Taylor, GSA dakota.taylor@unl.edu May 2023
Janana Khattak, ASUN jkhattak2@huskers.unl.edu May 2023

STRUCTURE

The Academic Integrity Committee shall consist of seven (7) members:

(a) four (4) faculty members appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate;

(b) one (1) student selected as determined by ASUN, one graduate student selected as determined by the Graduate Student Assembly;

(c) one (1) member appointed by the Dean of Students, or their designee.

TERMS OF OFFICE

Faculty members shall serve three year terms.  The terms will begin with the academic year, and will be staggered with at least one faculty member appointed annually.  The chair of the committee shall be a faculty member. 

RESPONSIBILITIES

The Committee shall work to:

1.  Identify the ways in which cheating or academic dishonesty occurs;

2.  Assess the extent to which academic dishonesty occurs on the University of Nebraska-Lincoln          campus;

3.  Identify the obstacles faculty members confront in recognizing and dealing with academic dishonesty;

4.  Evaluate the attitudes of students regarding academic honesty;

5.  Survey the policies of other universities, particularly those in the Big Ten, regarding academic honesty;

6.  Develop recommendations for strengthening the ability of faculty and administrators to recognize and deal with instances of academic dishonesty or cheating;

7.  Recommend strategies for creating among students a culture that recognizes the importance of academic honesty and how it benefits them; and

8.  Act upon the recommendations of the Ad Hoc Committee on Academic Honesty that met during the 2016-17 year.   Click here to see the 2016-17 report. 

OPERATING PROCEDURES AND GUIELINES ADOPTED BY COMMITTEE

The Committee shall file in the Faculty Senate Office (a) minutes of its meetings, and (b) a current statement of operating procedures and guielines adopted by the Committee itself.