Academic Standards Committee

2021-2022 MEMBERS

 

NAME EMAIL TERM
Jena Asgarpoor, Architectural Engineering jshafai@unl.edu August 2022
Maria Marron, College of Journalism mmarron2@unl.edu August 2022
Richard Graham, Libraries rgraham7@unl.edu August 2022
Rochelle Dalla, Child, Youth & Family Studies rdalla1@unl.edu August 2022
Jennifer Davidson, Economics jdavidson2@unl.edu August 2022
Timothy Meyer, Agricultural Economics tmeyer19@unl.edu August 2022
Ismail Dweikat, Agriculture & Horticulture idweikat2@unl.edu August 2022
Kiyomi Deards, Libraries kdeards2@unl.edu August 2022
Chigozie Obioma, English cobioma2@unl.edu August 2023
Benjamin Riggin, Electrical & Computer Engineering briggan2@unl.edu August 2023
Kelli Britten, College of Journalism and Mass Communications kelli@unl.edu August 2023
Scott Anderson, Glenn Korff School of Music scott.anderson@unl.edu August 2023
To be determined August 2023
JiuJiu Yu, Nutrition and Health Sciences jyu18@unl.edu August 2023
Jay Reddy, Veterinary & Biomedical Sciences jayreddy@unl.edu August 2023
Bryan Wang, College of Journalism and Mass Communications mwang10@unl.edu August 2023
Rigoberto Guevara, Modern Languages & Literature rguevara@unl.edu August 2024
Steven Hegemann, School of Accountancy shegemann4@unl.edu August 2024
Arthur Allen, School of Accountancy aallen1@unl.edu August 2024
Uchechukwu Jarrett, Economics ujarrett@unl.edu August 2024
Robert Derr, Art, Art History & Design rderr2@unl.edu August 2024
William Watts, Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs Designee

cont.

STRUCTURE

The Academic Standards Committee shall consist of twenty three members, as follows:

(a) twenty-two (22) faculty members appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate;

(b) the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, or designee.

(c) Every attempt will be made to insure that every college will be represented in the 22 faculty membership.

Only three of the faculty members shall serve as voting members at any one time.

TERM OF OFFICE

Faculty members will be appointed to three-year staggered terms (seven per year, eight every third year). The President of the Senate may reappoint those faculty members who request another term.

RESPONSIBILITIES

(1) The committee's general responsibility shall be to consider and act upon written appeals submitted through their respective colleges by undergraduate students who have been dismissed from UNL as a result of academic performance.

(2) The committee shall meet to approve or deny appeals made after final grade determination at the end of each semester and the end of the second five-week summer session. Meetings shall be held as required between the date for dismissal notification and the third day of classes for the spring semester, the end of the first week of classes for the fall semester. Normally, daily meetings will be required for a period of 8-10 days each semester and the Thursday and Friday immediately before the first and second five-week summer sessions.

(3) The committee shall consider and act upon written appeals submitted through their respective colleges by undergraduate students whose registration has been blocked because they have not removed entrance deficiencies within the time/credit-hour limits prescribed in the 1997 Admissions standards.


(4) The committee shall report regularly to the Faculty Senate, and recommend changes in its policies and provisions if and when it deems appropriate to do so.

OPERATING PROCEDURES AND GUIDELINES ADOPTED BY COMMITTEE

The committee shall file in the Faculty Senate Office (a) minutes of its meetings, and (b) a current statement of operating procedures and guidelines adopted by the committee itself. In the preparation of minutes and required reports, this committee must of course observe strict confidentiality of information as appropriate. For more information on this committee and general Faculty Senate rules governing its operation see the Preface.