University Commencement and Recognition Committee

2020-2021 MEMBERS

Voting Members:

NAME EMAIL TERM
Graduate Student Assembly Representative May 2021
ASUN Rep May 2021
ASUN Rep May 2021
Scott Fuess, Economics sfuess1@unl.edu August 2021
Vanessa Gorman, History, CHAIR vgorman1@unl.edu August 2021
Kelli Britten, Advertising kjohns2@unl.edu August 2023
Ming Li, Psychology mli@unl.edu August 2023
Mike Zeleny, Associate to the Chancellor mzeleny1@unl.edu cont.
Robert Gorman, Head Marshall rgorman1@unl.edu cont.
Tamy Burnett, University Honors Program Designee and Associate Head Marshall tburnett2@unl.edu cont.

 Non-Voting Members

NAME EMAIL                                TERM           
Megan Patel, Designee for the VC for Student Affairs meganpatel@unl.edu cont.
Steven Booton, Office of University Registrar sbooton2@unl.edu cont.
Gail Meyer, Associate Registrar gmeyer2@unl.edu cont.
Eva Bachman, Academic Success Corrdinator and Associate Registrar ebachman1@unl.edu cont.
Scott Krienert, Coordinator of Graduation Services, Office of the Registrar skrienert2@unl.edu cont.
Terri Eastin, Master's Programms Coordinator for Graduate Studies teastin1@unl.edu cont.
Kelsey Sims, Doctoral Programs Coordinator kelsey@unl.edu cont.
Shelley Zaborowski, Alumni Association szaborowski@huskeralum.org cont.
Scott Anderson, School of Music sanderson7@unl.edu cont.
Annette Wetzel, Executive Director of Special Events and Protocol awetzel1@unl.edu cont.
Corrie Svehla, Manager, Special Events & Projects csvehla@nebraska.edu cont.
Melanie Nunez, Director, Visitors Center & Special Events melanienunez@unl.edu cont.
Ann Tschetter, Associate Head Marshal, History atschetter2@unl.edu cont.
Jeffrey Rudy, Associate Head Marshal, Nutrition & Health Sciences jrudy@unl.edu cont. 

STRUCTURE

 The University Commencement and Recognition Committee shall consist of 10 voting members:

 (a) four faculty members appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate

(b) the Head Marshal of the Marshal Corps;

(c) two upper class students and one graduate student selected as determined by ASUN

(d) the Director of the Honors Program

(e) Chancellor or designee

Plus the following non-voting members:

(a) Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or designee

(b) The University Registrar and the following staff members: (a) Associate Registrar(s), as appropriate (one of whom will serve as Secretary of the Committee); Coordinator of Graduation Services

(c) Representatives from Graduate Studies:  Master's Programs Coordinator and Ph.D. Programs Coordinator 

(d) Representatives of the Office of Special Events (as appropriate)

(e) Representative from the School of Music

(f) Representative from the Alumni Association

(g) Associate Head Marshals of the University Marshal Corps

Voting members of the University Commencement and Recognition Committees are:  the four faculty members, two upper class students and one graduate student, Director of the Honors Program, and Chancellor or designee.  The term for the four faculty members is three years.  The term for the upper class students and gradute student are for one year.  The term for the other members is continuous.

RESPONSIBILITIES

1. The University Commencement and  Committee (UCRC) shall be primarily responsible for coordinating plans for commencement.  The program and arrangement for UNL commencement and honors ceremonies shall be subject to approval by a majority of the voting members of the UCRC. Those responsible for developing the specific programs and arrangements, including the Chancellor or designee, the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or designee, and/or other UNL staff members, will seek review and approval of the UCRC in a timely and appropriate fashion.

2. The UCRC shall especially authorize the preparation of appropriate certificates and awards to be presented during these ceremonies in accord with provision of the Faculty Senate governing honors, awards or recognitions for scholarship. The UCRC shall also be responsible for approving academic honors to be bestowed upon students during commencement exercises.

 3. The UCRC shall establish a regular procedure for ensuring the maintenance of an adequate Marshal Corps and shall evaluate the role of the Marshal Corps annually.

4. The Committee shall report regularly to the Faculty Senate, and recommend changes in these policies and provisions if and when it is deemed appropriate to do so.

Operating Procedures and Guidelines Adopted by the UCRC:

The committee shall file in the Faculty Senate Office (a) minutes of its meetings, and (b) a current statement of operating procedures and guidelines adopted by the committee itself. For more information on this committee and general Faculty Senate rules governing its operation see the Preface.