Committee on Committees

2021-2022 MEMBERS

NAME EMAIL TERM
Nate Ianno, Electrical & Computer Engineering nianno1@unl.edu August 2022
Yaroslav Komarovski, Classics & Religious Studies ykomarovski2@unl.edu August 2022
Eveline Baesu, Mechanical Eng., Senate President Designee, Communication Studies ebaesu@unl.edu August 2024
Kevin Hanrahan, Glenn Korff School of Music khanrahan2@unl.edu August 2023
Tirthankar Roy, Civil Engineering roy@unl.edu August 2023
Eric Dodds, Chemistry eric.dodds@unl.edu August 2023
Max Mueller, Classics & Religious Studies max.mueller@unl.edu August 2022
Tammie Fischer, Economics tammie.fischer@unl.edu August 2024
Jeffrey Smith, Sociology jsmith@unl.edu August 2024
Mike Zeleny, Associate to the Chancellor mzeleny1@unl.edu cont.
Karen Griffin, Coordinator of Faculty Governance (non-voting) kgriffin2@unl.edu cont.

STRUCTURE

The Committee on Committees shall consist of eleven (11) members who shall be representative of the diverse ranks and academic units of UNL.

(a) One (1) faculty member elected each year from and by the Faculty Senate in the Spring semester; nominees shall be selected from the current Senate by the Executive Committee;

(b) Two faculty members appointed each year by the Faculty Senate President;

(c) The President of the Faculty Senate or designee;

(d) The Chancellor or designee.

No more than two members of any one college faculty and no more than eight full professors (in each case, excluding the President of the Faculty Senate, the Chancellor or their designees) shall serve on the Committee.

TERM OF OFFICE

Except for the President of the Faculty Senate and the Chancellor (or their designees), faculty members elected or appointed shall serve three year terms. The terms will begin with the academic year.

RESPONSIBILITIES

(1) The Committee shall study the organization and operation of all standing and special committees of the faculty Senate and of the various boards, councils, and committees of UNL, either as requested by the Chancellor or the Faculty Senate or on its own initiative.

(2) The Committee may make recommendations in writing to the Chancellor or the Faculty Senate with respect to improvements in committee structure and operation.

(3) The Committee shall provide nominations, recommendation, and direct appointments for committees in accordance with the Preface and committee descriptions in this Syllabus.

 

OPERATIONAL PROCEDURES AND GUIDELINES ADOPTED BY COMMITTEE

The committee shall file in the Faculty Senate Office (a) minutes of its meetings, and (b) a current statement of operating procedures and guidelines adopted by the committee itself. For more information on this committee and general Faculty Senate rules governing its operations see the Preface.