Convocations Committee

2023-2024 MEMBERS

Jascika Maclean, GSA August 2024
, UPC Nebraska Representative August 2024
Yinying Wang, Special Education & Communication Disorders August 2026
Shi-Hua Xiang, School of Veterinary & Biomedical Sciences August 2026
Eveline Baesu, Mechanical & Materials Engineering August 2024
Georgina Bingham, Entomology August 2026
Mary Ellen Ducey, University Libraries August 2025
Karen Freimund Wills, Student Involvement cont.


The Convocations Committee shall consist of seven (7) members:

(a) four (4) faculty members appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate;

(b) two (2) student members, including at least one graduate student, selected as determined by ASUN;

(c) one (1) student member selected as determined by the UPC Nebraska; and

(d) the UPC Nebraska Program Coordinator (ex-officio, non-voting member).


Faculty members shall serve three year terms. The terms will begin with the academic year, and will be staggered with at least one faculty member appointed annually.


(1) The purpose of the Convocations Committee is to administer a speakers program for the university community. This speakers program is specifically intended to support faculty who wish to bring to the campus individuals who can add to the academic life of the university. The responsibilities of the Convocations Committee include publicizing the availability of these funds, reviewing applications for these funds, and determining awards.

(2) The Convocations Committee may prepare and recommend to the Chancellor an annual budget.

(3) The Convocations Committee may arrange for and sponsor special convocations and public exercises of general interest to the university community. The Committee shall have the authority to cooperate with the Nebraska Union in jointly sponsoring speakers.


The committee shall file in the Faculty Senate Office (a) minutes of its meetings, and (b) a current statement of operating procedures and guidelines adopted by the committee itself. For more information on this committee and general Faculty Senate rules governing its operations see the Preface.

Revised: 12/4/2018