Draft Draft Draft (00aug16mins)



Present:        Bender, Bryant, Fuller, Humes, Jackson, Latta, Miller, Prochaska-Cue, Scheideler,

                        Seikman, Whitt, Zorn




Date:              Wednesday, August 16, 2000


Location:       Wick Alumni Center, Steinhardt Room


1.0          Call to Order

                Scheideler called the meeting to order at 2:03 PM.


2.0          Announcements

                2.1   Administrative Salary Increases

Scheideler reported that she received information from Acting SVCAA Brinkerhoff regarding the salary increases for chairs in the College of Arts & Sciences.  Merit-based increases were paid from the salary pool, the average designated increase for administrators.  In addition, stipend levels were increased for each Chair.  The new administrative stipends, increases which  were obtained from internal College sources, were standardized at three levels based on unit size.  Humes pointed out that there does not appear to be a University-wide standard formula for determining stipend levels for chairs.  Latta noted that the increases were reported publicly in a way that denoted the amount of increase for merit versus stipend for each chair.


2.2   Replacement of Teresita Aguilar on Executive Committee

Scheideler reported that she has one candidate to run for the open position on the Executive Committee.  The committee suggested possible additional candidates for the ballot.


                2.3   UAAD Meeting with David Lechner, Vice President for Business & Finance

Scheideler announced that UAAD were planning on meeting with David Lechner on August 17th to discuss the increase in health care costs and the status of the health care trust fund.  Jackson volunteered to attend the meeting for the Executive Committee.  (Note:  The meeting has been rescheduled for August 30, 2000.)


2.4    Panel Discussion on 2020 Future of Research and Graduate Education Report

Scheideler reported that a panel discussion on the 2020 report will be held at the September 5th Academic Senate meeting.  Panel members are John Wunder, History, Tice Miller, Theater Arts, Kathy Prochaska-Cue, Family & Consumer Sciences, and Tom Powers, Plant Pathology.  Members of the Future Task Force Committee will be invited to attend the meeting to hear faculty input on the report, and to address questions or issues raised by the panel.


3.0          Approval of 8/2/00 Minutes

Humes moved and Bryant seconded approval of the 8/2/00 minutes as amended.  Motion approved.


4.0          Review of Academic Senate Strategic Agenda 1999-2001

The committee reviewed and revised the academic Senate Strategic Agenda for 2000-2001.  A copy of the revised agenda will be provided to Senators in the September 5th packet.


5.0          Agenda Items – New and Unfinished Business for the Academic Senate Meetings 2000-2001

The committee discussed issues both new and old that need to be addressed by the Senate and the Executive Committee this academic year.


6.0          Goal and Agenda Items for Academic Senate Executive Committee

                See 5.0 above.


7.0                Vice Chancellor for Research Search Committee Suggestions

The committee recommended potential candidates to serve on the search committee to replace Dr. Torr.  The complete list of candidates will be forwarded to Acting SVCAA Brinkerhoff.


8.0          Political Strategies

Scheideler reported that the committee will meet informally with Jim Hewitt, candidate for the 29th District Legislative seat on September 6th.  She stated that attempts are being made to arrange a meeting with the opposing candidate, Michael Foley.


Bryant suggested that the committee may want to meet with Legislative committees, as has been done in the past, to discuss various issues.  A subcommittee of Bryant, Humes, Bender and Latta was formed to draft a statement outlining issues and concerns important to the faculty.


The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 PM.  The next meeting of the Executive Committee will be at 3:00 PM on Wednesday, August 23, 2000 at 3:00 in 116 Varner Hall.  Respectfully submitted, David S. Jackson, Secretary.