Student Conduct Appeals Board

2020-2021 MEMBERS

ASUN August 2021
ASUN August 2021
ASUN August 2021
ASUN August 2021
Raymond Reichenberg, Nebraska Center on Children, Youth, Families & Schools August 2023
Ty Schmidt, Animal Science August 2021
Toni Anaya, University Libraries August 2021
Kelli King, Assistant VC for Student Affairs cont.


The University Student Conduct, Subordinate and Appeals Boards are comprised of students and faculty. The Student Conduct and Subordinate Boards hear cases of alleged violations of the UNL Student Code of Conduct. There are three Subordinate Boards each of which focuses on a particular type of case: academic misconduct, sexual misconduct and cases involving student organizations.

Board Members consider and ask questions about information presented during the hearing; discuss information with other Board members; and, determine whether or not a student or student organization violated the Student Code of Conduct. After a finding of responsibility, Board Members listen to recommended sanctions, and then collaborate with one another to impose sanctions that balance the developmental and educational needs of the student with the safety and integrity of the UNL community. The Appeals Board conducts a review of a student’s written appeal of decisions made by the Student Conduct Board.


The Student Conduct Appeals Board shall have seven members; four students and three faculty with the chairperson selected by members of the board. The four student members shall be selected by the Chancellor from the list of eight nominees provided by the ASUN. The Faculty Senate shall provide the Chancellor with a list of faculty that will include two nominations for each faculty opening on the committee. The Chancellor shall fill each faculty opening on the Board by selecting one person from the two nominations provided.

Student members shall be appointed for a term of one academic year. Faculty members shall be appointed to three-year terms, with one new three-year term commencing each year. Members may not serve more than two consecutive terms.


The Student Counduct Appeals Board shall hear appeals of decisions by the Student Conduct Board. See current UNL Student Handbook.