University Conduct Board

2021-2022 MEMBERS

NAME EMAIL TERM
Katherine Jordanm, GSA kjordan7@huskers.unl.edu
ASUN
ASUN
ASUN
ASUN
ASUN
ASUN
ASUN
Andrea Bolland, Art, Art History & Design abolland1@unl.edu August 2023
Toni Anaya, University Libraries tanaya2@unl.edu August 2023
Ed Harris, Biochemistry eharris5@unl.edu August 2023
Aaron Duncan, Communication Studies aduncan3@unl.edu August 2023
Amy Schmidt, Biological Systems Engineering aschmidt@unl.edu August 2023
Raymond Reichenberg, Nebraska Ctr. on Children, Youth, Families & Schools rreichenberg@unl.edu August 2023
Katherine Wesley, Educational Administration katherine.wesley@unl.edu August 2023
John Shrader, College of Journalism and Mass Communications john.shrader@unl.edu August 2024
Ikuho Amano, Modern Languages & Literature ikuho@unl.edu August 2024
Kelli King, Assistant VC for Student Affairs kelli.king@unl.edu cont.

RESPONSIBILITY

RESPONSIBILITY

The University Conduct Board is comprised of students and faculty. The University Conduct Board hears cases of alleged violations of the UNL Student Code of Conduct. The Board hears cases that range from behavioral misconduct, academic misconduct, Title IX, and cases involving student organizations.

Board Members will consider information,  ask questions, and discuss information relevant to the case with other Board members. At the end of the hearing, the Board will determine whether or not a student or student organization violated the Student Code of Conduct. After a finding of responsibility, Board Members listen to recommended sanctions, and then collaborate with one another to impose sanctions that balance the developmental and educational needs of the student with the safety and integrity of the UNL community. The University Conduct Board may also be asked to review of a student’s written appeal of a decision made by a University Conduct Board. Board members are encouraged to recuse themselves on cases involving a conflict of interest or if they served on the original hearing.

STRUCTURE

The University Conduct Board shall have five student members and four faculty members. ASUN shall provide the Chancellor with fifteen recommendations from at least five colleges, from which he or she will select five regular student members and five alternate members to serve on the Board. No more than two of these five students may be from the same college. The Faculty Senate shall provide the Chancellor with a list containing 50% more recommendations than open positions, from which he or she will select four regular members and four alternate faculty members to serve on the University Conduct Board. No more than two of the four faculty members may be from the same college.

Student members of the University Conduct Board shall be appointed for a term of one academic year from the first day of classes extending through the last day of classes. Faculty members shall be appointed for a term of three academic years, with at least one new three-year term commencing each year. Members may be reappointed, but may not serve more than two consecutive terms. The Chairperson shall be selected by the Board.