2021-2022 Colloquia Schedule

Colloquiums presented by non-Physics faculty will take place via Zoom for this academic year. The link to the Zoom meeting is below. The meeting ID is: 917 8154 8183. For further information, please call the Physics & Astronomy Department at 402-472-2770.

Join Zoom meeting

Past Colloquia Schedules: ♦2021-20222020-20212019-20202018-20192017-20182016-20172015-20162014-20152013-20142012-2013



Annual Safety Training, August 26 at 4:00 p.m. in Jorgensen Hall 136 or via Zoom

Physics & Astronomy Faculty



Departmental Safety Colloquium

Thursday, Aug. 26, 2021

Host: Kees Uiterwaal & Don Umstadter


Christian Binek

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Voltage Controlled Neel Vector Rotation in Zero Magnetic Field

Thursday, Sept. 2, 2021

Host: Peter Dowben


Xia Hong

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Emerging Phenomena at Correlated Oxide Nanostructures and Interfaces

Thursday, Sept. 9, 2021

Host: Peter Dowben


Christine Harendt

Institut fur Mikroelektronik Stuttgart

Hybrid-Systems-in-Foil for Flexible Electronics - Technology and Applications

Thursday, Sept. 16, 2021

Host: Peter Dowben


Tom Russell

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Structuring Liquids

Thursday, Sept. 23, 2021

Host: Robert Streubel



Peide Ye

Elmore Family School of Electrical and Computer Engineering - Purdue University

Single-Layer and Bilayer Quantum Hall States in an N-Type Wide Tellurium Quantum Well

Thursday, Oct. 7, 2021

Host: Xia Hong


Maria Asensio

Materials Science Institute of Madrid

Electronic and Chemical Imaging of Nanomaterials

Thursday, Oct. 14, 2021

Host: Peter Dowben


Indara Suarez

Boston University

Colliding Worlds

Thursday, Oct. 21, 2021 **3:30 PM @ Nebraska Champions Club**

Host: WoPhys 2021 Conference


Dawn Williams

University of Alabama

The IceCube Neutrino Observatory and the Beginning of Neutrino Astrophysics

Thursday, Oct. 28, 2021

Host: Peisi Huang


Igor Bray

Curtin University, Australia

Thursday, Nov. 11, 2021

Host: Ilya Fabrikant


Denys Makarov

Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany

Thursday, Nov. 18, 2021

Host: Robert Streubel