Overview: College STEM Education (CSE) Graduate Minor
The Graduate Minor in College STEM Education is designed for graduate students planning to pursue careers that involve teaching a STEM discipline at the college level.  It will provide graduate students (Master's and Ph.D.) in any science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) discipline an avenue for obtaining academic preparation for teaching their major discipline at the college level

Requirements of the Minor
For Master's students, 9 credit hours of graduate courses drawn from the courses listed below.
For Ph.D. students, 15 credit hours of graduate courses drawn from the courses listed below.
For this interdisciplinary Minor, students should take a combination of courses from at least 2 different departments listed below that meets their career-related teaching interests. 

Courses Available for the Minor
Offered in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication
            ALEC 805: Advanced Teaching Strategies (3 credits)
            ALEC 905: Practicum in Post-Secondary Teaching (1 credit; pre-req.: ALEC 805 or equivalent)
Offered in the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
            GEOS 810: Teaching and Learning in Post-Secondary Science Education (3 credits)
            GEOS 811: STEM Education Seminar (1 credit), which may be taken up to three times for credit towards the Minor.
Offered in the Department of Educational Psychology
            EDPS 854: Human Cognition and Instruction (3 credits)
            EDPS 961: Cognitive Development (3 credits)
Offered in the Department of Entomology
            ENTO 830: Introduction to the Development of Distance Education Courses (3 credits)
Offered in the School of Natural Resources
            AGRI 888: Teaching Undergraduate Science seminar (1 credit)
Offered in the Department of Psychology
            PSYCH 941: Psychometrics 1 (3 credits)
            PSYCH 942: Psychometrics 2 (3 credits)
Offered in the Department of Teaching, Learning, and Teacher Education
            TEAC 880: Teaching with Technology (1-3 credits)*
            TEAC 902: Education Policy and Practice Special Topics-Higher Education (1-3 credits)*
            TEAC 936: Seminar in College Teaching (1-3 credits)*
            *These 1- to 3-credit coures may be taken for up to a total of 3 credits each to be applied towards the Minor.

Who do I contact if I'm interested in pursuing a Graduate Minor in College STEM Education?
The faculty listed below are members of the Graduate Committee for the Minor.  Any one of them can help advise students on which course offerings may best fit their interests and sign a student's MOC for the Minor.

Name Department Email Address
Mark Anderson Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences mra@unl.edu
Leilani Arthurs Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences larthurs2@unl.edu
Mark Burbach School of Natural Resources mburbach1@unl.edu
Joseph Dauer School of Natural Resources joseph.dauer@unl.edu
Steven Harris Department of Plant Pathology sharris2@unl.edu
Donald Lee Department of Agronomy and Horticulture dlee1@unl.edu
Jennifer Melander Department of Biological Systems Engineering jmelander7@unl.edu
Matthew Van Den Broeke Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences mvandenbroeke2@unl.edu