Academic Partnerships

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln is a member of the Big Ten Conference, the Big Ten Academic Alliance and the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU).

About the Big Ten Conference

The Big Ten Conference is a union of world-class academic institutions who share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. The conference’s 100-plus years of history, strong tradition of competitive intercollegiate athletic programs, vast and passionate alumni base, and consistent leadership in innovations position the Big Ten and its entire community firmly on the Big Stage.

The Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness in all aspects of its student-athletes’ lives, with the ultimate goal of ensuring that each individual has the opportunity to live a Big Life.

Big Ten universities make up the Big Ten Academic Alliance, a consortium formed in 1958 as the conference’s academic counterpart.

From the Big Ten website
Big Ten By The Numbers
Institution Location (Population) Founded Undergrad Enrollment
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Champaign, Illinois
1867 43,603
Indiana University Bloomington, Indiana
1820 48,514
University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa
1847 33,334
University of Maryland College Park, Maryland
1856 38,140
University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Michigan
1817 43,625
Michigan State University East Lansing, Michigan
1855 50,085
University of Minnesota Minneapolis, Minnesota
1851 51,147
University of Nebraska–Lincoln Lincoln, Nebraska
1869 26,079
Northwestern University Evanston, Illinois
1851 21,000
Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio
1870 58,322
Pennsylvania State University University Park, Pennsylvania
1855 45,518
Purdue University West Lafayette, Indiana
1869 39,464
Rutgers University New Brunswick, New Jersey
1766 40,720
University of Wisconsin–Madison Madison, Wisconsin
1848 49,193

About the Big Ten Academic Alliance

The Big Ten Academic Alliance is a consortium of the Big Ten universities. The Big Ten Academic Alliance leverages faculty, funding, facilities, investments and ideas to help the collective whole compete and succeed.

Among its core projects are:

  • library collections and access
  • technology collaborations to build capacity at reduced costs
  • leveraging purchasing and licensing through economies of scale
  • leadership and development programs for faculty and staff
  • study-abroad collaborations
  • course-sharing mechanisms by which students may take courses at other consortium institutions

About the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities

The Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities is a non-profit association of 218 public research universities, land-grant institutions, and state university systems with member campuses in all 50 states, U.S. territories and the District of Columbia. All Big Ten Institutions except for Northwestern University are APLU members.

With roots going back to 1887, APLU is the nation’s oldest higher education association. APLU is dedicated to advancing learning, discovery and engagement. The association provides a forum for the discussion and development of policies and programs affecting higher education and the public interest.

We’re here to help you shape the future.