Faculty Interests

Prospective undergraduate research assistants should contact faculty in the research area in which they are interested.

Astronomy & Astrophysics

Kevin Lee

Kevin Lee

klee@unl.edu

Variable star photometry; image processing.


Kam-Ching Leung

Kam-Ching Leung (emeritus)

kleung2@unl.edu

Very close binary systems; contact and near contact systems.

Atomic, Molecular, Optical & Plasma Physics

Herman Batelaan

Herman Batelaan

hbatelaan@unl.edu

Quantum optics; vacuum field interaction with atoms and electrons; decoherence in matter interferometry; field emission of electrons; storage and slowing of light; slow sound and phononic band gaps; relativistic dynamics of a charged sphere.


Paul Burrow

Paul Burrow

pburrow@unl.edu

Low-energy electron scattering processes in gases, in particular, temporary negative ion formation and dissociative attachment.


Martin Centurion

Martin Centurion

martin.centurion@unl.edu

Ultrafast science: diffractive imaging of isolated molecules with atomic resolution, ultrafast photo-induced chemical reactions, controlling molecules with laser pulses, atoms and molecules in intense laser fields; experimental methods: time-resolved electron diffraction, electron deflectometry, femtosecond optical measurements.


Ilya Fabrikant

Ilya Fabrikant

ifabrikant@unl.edu

Theory of electron-atom and electron-molecule collisions; electron attachment to molecules and clusters; Rydberg atom collisions; photodetachment of negative ions in external fields.


Matthias Fuchs

Matthias Fuchs

mfuchs@unl.edu

Ultrafast and high-field X-ray science; next-generation X-ray Source; X-ray free-electron lasers, nonlinear QED.


Timothy Gay

Timothy Gay

tgay@unl.edu

Polarized electron collisions with atoms and molecules; development of polarized electron sources and electron polarimeters; neutrino mass measurements; polarized photoionization of molecules.


Duane H. Jaecks (emeritus)

djaecks1@unl.edu

Experimental measurement of electron motion and distributions in atoms formed in ion collisions and photoionization; study of correlated motion of massive particles.


Bradley Shadwick

Bradley Shadwick

shadwick@unl.edu

Theory of intense laser-plasma interactions with applications to plasma based particle accelerators; plasma kinetic theory; reduced plasma models; Hamiltonian structure; large-scale computation; and advanced numerical algorithms.


Anthony Starace

Anthony Starace

astarace@unl.edu

Theory of intense laser-atom interactions and processes that elucidate few-body dynamics, including attosecond and other ultrafast atomic and molecular processes; strong-field atomic processes such as above-threshold ionization/detachment, high-order harmonic generation, laser-assisted electron-atom scattering, and intense laser acceleration of electrons; photoionization and photo-detachment processes; atoms in strong external static fields; coherent control of atomic processes; and ultrafast electron diffraction for imaging electronic motion in atoms and molecules.


Kees Uiterwaal

Cornelis (Kees) Uiterwaal

cuiterwaal2@unl.edu

Femtosecond laser processes; optical vortices; photoionization in ultrashort and intense laser pulses; ion mass spectrometry; electron spectroscopy.


Donald Umstadter

Donald Umstadter

donald.umstadter@unl.edu

Nonlinear optics of high-intensity laser light in relativistic plasmas, with applications to compact particle accelerators and ultra-short duration x-ray sources; high energy density physics and extreme states of matter.

Condensed Matter/Materials Physics & Nanotechnology

Shireen Adenwalla

Shireen Adenwalla

sadenwalla@unl.edu

Novel interactions in Thin film magnetic systems; interactions at ferroelectric/ferromagnetic interfaces; Boron based semiconductors and neutron detection applications; using biological templates for patterned media.


Kirill Belashchenko

Kirill Belashchenko

belashchenko@unl.edu

Electronic structure and magnetism of solids; spin-dependent transport; microstructural evolution in alloys; microstructure/property relationships in magnetic materials.


Christian Binek

Christian Binek

cbinek@unl.edu

Magnetic heterostructures; molecular beam epitaxy; extrinsically controlled exchange bias & spintronic applications; fundamental aspects of thermodynamics studied with magnetic model systems.


Peter Dowben

Peter Dowben

pdowben@unl.edu

Electronic (band) structure across electronic phase transitions in reduced dimensionality.


Stephen Ducharme

Stephen Ducharme

sducharme1@unl.edu

Fundamental and applied studies of organic ferroelectrics; nanoscale ferroelectricity; thin film ellipsometry; pyroelectric and piezoelectric properties of materials; nanoscience education and outreach; introductory physics for life sciences (IPLS); student-centered physics instruction based on sound research.


Axel Enders

Axel Enders

axel@unl.edu

Multi-functional surface-supported hybrid nanostructures; innovative nanomaterials synthesis strategies; low- and variable temperature scanning tunneling microscopy; electron spectroscopy; magneto-optics; magnetic dichroism.


Alexei Gruverman

Alexei Gruverman

alexei_gruverman@unl.edu

Fundamental studies of nanoscale physical phenomena in electronic and polar materials by means of scanning probe microscopy (SPM) techniques; research involves application of SPM for nanoscale studies of static and dynamic properties of ferroic domains, scaling behavior of ferroelectric-based devices, electronic properties of polar surfaces, SPM-assisted methods for fabrication of nanostructures and SPM studies of electromechanical and mechanical properties of biocompatible materials and biological systems.


Robert Hardy (emeritus)

rhardy@unl.edu

Statistical mechanics; computer simulations.


Xia Hong

Xia Hong

xia.hong@unl.edu

Epitaxial growth and nanofabrication of complex oxide heterostructures; transport studies of nanoscale and low dimensional electron systems.


Sitaram Jaswal

Sitaram Jaswal

jaswal@unl.edu

Atomic and electrical structure of metallic compounds and glasses; magnetic properties of solids; surfaces; interfaces; nanostructures.


Roger Kirby

Roger Kirby

rkirby@unl.edu

Magnetism in nanostructured materials; magnetization reversal processes; magneto-optical measurements.


Alexey Kovalev

Alexey Kovalev

alexey.kovalev@unl.edu

Theoretical condensed-matter physics; spintronics; spin-dependent transport; quantum information processing.


Sy-Hwang Liou

Sy-Hwang Liou

sliou@unl.edu

Magnetic domain imaging; magnetic nanostructured materials and complex oxides.


Thomas A. Morgan (emeritus)

tmorgan1@unl.edu

Theoretical physics


David Sellmyer

David Sellmyer

dsellmyer@unl.edu

Nanoscale magnetic materials; self-assembled dots; extremely high density recording media; nanostructured high-energy product magnetic materials.


Evgeny Tsymbal

Evgeny Tsymbal

tsymbal@unl.edu

Computational studies of magnetic, ferroelectric and transport properties of nanoscale materials and structures: magnetoelectric interfaces, magnetic and ferroelectric tunnel junctions, complex oxide materials.


Xiaoshan Xu

Xiaoshan Xu

xiaoshan.xu@unl.edu

Experimental condensed matter physics.

High Energy Physics

Ken Bloom

Ken Bloom

kenbloom@unl.edu

Proton collisions with the compact muon solenoid (CMS) experiment at the Large Hadron Collider; computing and software for particle physics experiments.


Dan Claes

Dan Claes

dclaes@unl.edu

Compact muon solenoid (CMS) experiment at CERN


Aaron Dominguez

Aaron Dominguez

aarond@unl.edu

Compact muon solenoid (CMS) experiment at CERN


Ilya Kravchenko

ikrav@unl.edu

Experimental particle physics: compact muon solenoid (CMS) experiment at the Large Hadron Collider.
Astrophysics: Ultra high energy neutrino experiments in Antarctica.


Gregory Snow

Gregory Snow

gsnow1@unl.edu

Compact muon solenoid (CMS) experiment at CERN

Other Research Areas

William B. Campbell (emeritus)

wcampbell2@unl.edu

Theoretical physics


Paul Finkler (emeritus)

paul.finkler@unl.edu

Theoretical physics


C. Edward Jones (emeritus)

cjones1@unl.edu

Theoretical physics