Libraries Committee

2020-2021 MEMBERS

NAME EMAIL TERM
GSA May 2021
ASUN August 2021
ASUN August 2021
Kelsy Burke, Sociology kburke@unl.edu August 2023
Judy Diamond, Museum jdiamond1@unl.edu August 2021
Jennifer Auchtung, Food, Science & Technology jauchtung2@unl.edu August 2022
Yalem Teshome, CASNR yalemt@unl.edu -
Tim Carr, Graduate College tcarr2@unl.edu -
Adrian Wisnicki, College of Arts & Sciences awisnicki2@unl.edu -
Laurie Thomas Lee, College of Journalism & Mass Communications llee1@unl.edu -
Sarah Deyong, College of Architecture sdeyong2@unl.edu -
TBA, College of Engineering -
Wendy Katz, Hixon Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts wkatz2@unl.edu -
Arthur Allen, College of Business Administration aallen1@unl.edu -
Deryl Hatch-Tocaimaza, College of Education & Human Sciences derylhatch@unl.edu -
Rich Leiter, College of Law rleiter2@unl.edu -
Claire Stewart, University Libraries cstewart@unl.edu cont.

STRUCTURE

The Libraries Committee shall consist of the following 18 members:

(a) Three (3) faculty members appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate;

(b) one faculty representative to be chosen by each of the nine undergraduate colleges, and the Graduate College;

(c) three (3) student members, including at least one graduate student, selected by ASUN;

(d) the Dean of Libraries or designee; and

(e) the Director of the Law Library.

TERM OF OFFICE

Faculty members appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate shall serve staggered three year terms with one member being appointed each year. Other faculty or student member shall serve on appointment or election by their College or the ASUN, after notice from the Committee on Committees of a need for selection of representatives. The term of office begins with the academic year.

RESPONSIBILITIES

 (1) The Libraries Committee shall advise and make recommendations on all the matters pertinent to the research and general service functions of the libraries, including allocation of funds for the increase of library holdings.

(2) The Libraries Committee shall serve as a conduit for suggestions from faculty and students for the improvement of the libraries.

(3) The Libraries Committee shall report to the Faculty Senate annually.

OPERATING PROCEDURES AND GUIDELINES ADOPTED BY COMMITTEE

The Committee shall file in the Faculty Senate Office (a) minutes of its meetings, and (b) a current statement of operating procedures and guidelines adopted by the committee itself. For more information on this committee and general Faculty Senate rules governing its operations, see the Preface.