2014 Poetry of Place at State Capitol

2014 Poetry of Place Celebrates at the State Capitol

2014 Student Poets at the NE state Capitol

On May 2, 2014, twelve poets gathered in the Warner Chambers of the Nebraska State Capitol to read their poems in celebration of local place.  The twelve poets represent rural, urban, and suburban communities across the state, and come from elementary, middle school, and high school classrooms.

The 2014 Poetry of Place Celebration involved over thirty distinct schools, each of which could Nebraska Capitol Rotundasubmit up to four poems for consideration.  Over eighty poems were received this year.  Twyla Hansen, the Nebraska State Poet, and Matt Mason, president of the Nebraska Writers’ Collective, made the final selections, with help from Nebraska Writing Project teachers Sharon Bishop (Henderson) and Jeff Lacey (Ralston).

The Poetry of Place Celebration, now in its ninth year, is supported by a generous grant from Humanities Nebraska.

(Read selected poetry here)