Undergraduate literary magazine

Laurus is the definitive collection of writing and visual art created (and edited) by University of Nebraska–Lincoln undergraduates. The magazine accepts poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and scripts, as well as photography and other artwork. Funding for Laurus is generously provided by the Orin Stepanek Fund from the University of Nebraska Foundation. The annual issue is published in spring.

Our History

Apply to be an editor

Laurus seeks new editors every year during fall semester. To apply, submit a cover letter detailing your interest in becoming a Laurus editor and your past experiences with editing or other literary matters,). Be aware that Laurus requires a significant commitment of time during the spring semester, so please also discuss your understanding of the time commitment in your letter. Also submit a brief resume that includes relevant experience and course work, along with a paragraph-length review of Madeleine L’engle’s poem “Instruments”, explaining your thoughts on whether or not the poem was effective. Submit your application and direct your questions to The deadline for editor applications is October 25, 2020.

Call for Submissions

Laurus encourages undergraduate students to submit their visual art, fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction for our Spring 2021 issue now through Wednesday, January 8, 2021. To submit your work, go to, and follow the submission guidelines below. You must be currently enrolled as an undergraduate student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln to have your work included in Laurus.

Submission Guidelines

  1. No more than five submissions may be made per student per academic year. Submissions beyond the fifth will not be considered.
  2. The submission deadline will be January 8, 2021.
  3. Submit finished work only. Laurus editors will generally not provide feedback.
  4. All submissions of fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction should be in a Microsoft Word (.doc or .docx) format.
  5. All written submissions must be 12 point font, Times New Roman, and double spaced. Exceptions can be made for creative purposes upon request.
  6. Fiction and creative non-fiction submissions must not exceed 4500 words.
  7. Visual art may be submitted as a JPEG, GIF, or PNG file. Be sure that you upload the largest file size available of your visual art piece.
  8. Please include an author or artist bio to feature in the magazine if your work is selected.
  9. If there is a technical problem with the submission website, submissions may be sent to
  10. By submitting to Laurus you are granting permission to publish your work in the annual Laurus print magazine. Upon publication all rights revert back to the author; this means that, once the issue has been produced, you are free to submit your work for publication elsewhere. (Keep in mind, however, that many publications will require first publication rights, which may mean work published in Laurus is ineligible.) If a piece that has been submitted to Laurus is accepted for publication elsewhere, please notify us immediately so that we can remove it from our submission pool.
  11. As all submissions are read blind, no cover letter is necessary with your submission. In lieu of a cover letter, please write a brief statement acknowledging that you accept these terms of submission.

Submit Your Work

Congratulations to the 2017-18 Laurus Award winners!

Visual Art

First Place: Carrie Feldmann
Second Place: Riley Jhi
Third Place: Olivia Versaw


First Place: Celie Knudsen
Second Place: Angela Ching
Third Place: Nyadet Dojiok


First Place: DaRon Johnson
Second Place: Shaelyn Ramos
Third Place: Ellis Clopton

Note: These poetry and prose awards were selected by committees of graduate students and instructors.

Spring 2018 Issue of Laurus

Now Available for Purchase: $5.50 Each

To purchase a copy, email Michael Page at


Jessa Bateman
Mei Grace Behrendt
Kari Brynjulson
Thalia Chapelle
Regan Chasek
Angela Ching
Ellis Clopton
Nyadet Dojiok
Carrie Feldman
Beth Forsyth
Aidan Gagner
Aryn Huck
Ayah Issa
Riley Jhi
DaRon Johnson
Madeline Kimme
Celie Knudsen
Meghan Leadabrand
Lucy Long
Carter Moran
Sara Mosier
Shaelyn Ramos
Wendolyn Torres
Olivia Versaw
Faith Villamonte
Helen Winston

Cover Art

Wendolyn Rose Torres


Evan Pille (Editor-in-Chief)
Talitha Greaver (Senior Editor)
Aly Holmes
Bailea Kerr
Welton Cora
Danielle Bischoff
Emily Moseman
Ryn Baginsky
Kelsey Conrad
Nicole Eisenbraun
Olivia Schmitz
Zoryana Stepanyuk

Graphic Design

Bailey Kerr
Kelsey Conrad

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Michael Page

Contact Us

To contact the editors about questions or queries, email

Spring 2017 Issue of Laurus

To purchase a copy, email Michael Page at

Laurus 2017 cover art - 'Recovery' by Hannah Klemme
Cover art: "Recovery" by Hannah Klemme


Carly Birman
Dani Bischoff
Kari Brynjulson
Tayden Bundy
Keith Buswell
Nicholas Castner
Isabella Catalano
Thalia Chapelle
Lane Chasek
Angela Ching
Kelsey Conrad
Madison Eckstrom
Megan Eckstrom
John Ficenec
Lindsey Hand
Ashleigh Herrera
Cassandra Kernick
Hannah Klemme
Erika Larson
Meghan Leadabrand
Brenna McManus
Olivia Miller
Matt Miner
Sara Mosier
Connor Rodenbaugh
Araya Santo
Mattie Sawle
Faith Thomas
Olivia Versaw
Kyra Werner
Katrina Zeleski


Lori Nevole (president)
Evan Pille (primary programmer)
Alexa Horn (treasurer)
Kayla Punt
Aly Holmes
Katie Gurtis
Michaela Luckey
Zoryana Stepanyuk
Mikayla Kolander
Austin Buchanan
Kylie Ballentine
Talitha Greaver

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Michael Page

Contact Us

To contact the editors about questions or queries, email

The History of Laurus

Laurus is the undergraduate literary journal of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, supported by the English Department and the University of Nebraska Foundation. Laurus is a registered student organization at UNL. Laurus publishes fiction, poetry, non-fiction and visual artwork created exclusively by UNL undergraduates. The annual issue is published in the spring.

Laurus was founded in 1983. The 2021 publication will be the 27th edition. Over the years, Laurus has published early work by such notable writers as Timothy Schaffert (1990), Amil Quayle (1987, 1989), Amy Knox Brown (1987, 1989), James Cihlar (1989), Erin Flanagan (1994), Rainbow Rowell (1996), and Danielle Luther-Luebbe (2005). Schaffert was also an editor in 1991, as was Pulitizer Prize finalist Lee Martin in 1992. Faculty advisors over the years have included James Roberts, Marcia Southwick, Judith Slater, Anthony Hawley, John Chavez, John Schulze, Michael Page, Rachel Cochran, and Scott Guild.

Professor Emeritus of Poetry Greg Kuzma had the longest tenure as faculty advisor, through much of the 1990s and 2000s. Greg writes, “My work with Laurus was the most important service work I did for UNL. During the years I was advisor Laurus became entirely an undergraduate literary and fine arts magazine, printing only undergrads and edited by undergrads. I had no hand in the choices selected to publish, although I did do a lot of the proofreading. We worked hard to print full color covers, gained funding from the Art Department to support cover art and inside art, and reached out across campus to try to become a campus wide magazine. We published literary criticism, stories and poems, plays, panel discussions, essays on science and sociology, book and film reviews. For many years Laurus was the most exciting thing I did at UNL.” Through Greg’s efforts, Laurus has become an important institution within the UNL English Department.

If you would like to purchase previous issues of Laurus, copies are available at the English Department office and at the University Bookstore and other area bookstores. To order past issues, e-mail Michael Page at