Literary and Critical Theory Concentration

For Undergraduate English Majors

As an English major, you design your own concentration — a program of study based on your areas of interest, organized around a controlling theme or topic — with the help of your advisor. Below are some recommendations for students interested in this area.

Download PDF VersionView All Concentrations

Recommended Courses

Recommended Reading

Recommended Courses

  • College Professor 
  • Cultural Critic/Writer 
  • Cultural Worker 
  • Teacher

Professors to Know

Photo of Marco Abel; links to faculty profile

Marco Abel

  • Professor and Department Chair
    Courtesy Appointment in Department of Communication Studies
  • mabel2@unl.edu
  • (402) 472-1850
  • 204A Andrews Hall
  • marcoabel.com
Photo of Roland Végső; links to faculty profile

Roland Végső

  • Susan J. Rosowski Associate Professor of English and Vice Chair
    Courtesy Appointment in Department of Communication Studies
  • rvegso2@unl.edu
  • 207B Andrews Hall
Photo of Tom Gannon; links to faculty profile

Tom Gannon

  • Associate Professor and Academic Advisor for the Institute for Ethnic Studies
  • tgannon2@unl.edu
  • 346 Andrews Hall
Photo of Rhonda Garelick; links to faculty profile

Rhonda Garelick

  • Professor of Performing Arts and English
  • rgarelick2@unl.edu
  • (402) 472-8224
  • 355 Andrews Hall
Photo of Stephen Ramsay; links to faculty profile

Stephen Ramsay

  • Susan J. Rosowski Associate Professor of English
  • sramsay2@unl.edu
  • 303 Andrews Hall
Photo of Robert Brooke; links to faculty profile

Robert Brooke

  • John E. Weaver Professor of English
  • rbrooke1@unl.edu
  • (402) 472-1807
  • 210 Andrews Hall
Photo of Stacey Waite; links to faculty profile

Stacey Waite

  • Associate Professor and Chair of the Graduate Program
  • swaite2@unl.edu
  • 337C Andrews Hall