Stubbendieck Great Plains Distinguished Book Prize

Each year the Center for Great Plains Studies presents a prize for the previous year's best book on the Great Plains. The Stubbendieck Great Plains Distinguished Book Prize carries a cash award recently increased to $10,000. Publishers or authors may make nominations; each publisher may submit up to five titles. Only first edition, full-length, nonfiction books copyrighted in 2017 are evaluated for this year's award.



Prairie Rising

Prairie Rising: Indigenous Youth, Decolonization, and the Politics of Intervention

Jaskiran Dhillon

(University of Toronto Press). Dhillon provides a series of critical reflections about settler colonialism in Canada through an investigation of Indigenous-state relations in the city of Saskatoon. A professor of Global Studies at the New School in New York, Dhillon reveals how various groups including state agents, youth workers, and community organizations utilize participatory politics to intervene in the lives of Indigenous youth living under conditions of colonial occupation and marginality.

This Blessed Earth

This Blessed Earth: A Year in the Life of an American Family Farm

Ted Genoways

(W. W. Norton & Company). Genoways, who resides in Lincoln, Neb., tells the story of the family farm, its identity, and its uncertain future. The book follows one family’s story from harvest to harvest, exploring the rapidly changing world of small, traditional farmers. He creates a vivid, nuanced portrait of the radical new farming landscape and one family's fight to preserve its legacy and the life they love.

Growing a Revolution

Growing A Revolution: Bringing Our Soil Back to Life

David R. Montgomery

Montgomery (W. W. Norton & Company). Montgomery, a professor of earth and space sciences at the University of Washington, issues a passionate call to make agriculture sustainable by ditching the plow, covering the soil, and diversifying crop rotations. Cutting through standard debates about conventional and organic farming, Montgomery explores why practices based on the principles of conservation agriculture help restore soil health and fertility