The Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD) Office is located at:
232 Canfield Administration Building Lincoln, NE 68588-0401
402-472-3787 Phone
402-472-0080 Fax

796 separator line

George (Sam) Goodin

Director

George (Sam) Goodin

The Director of Services for Students with Disabilities provides leadership and strategic direction for the unit. The Director is responsible for ensuring that the unit complies with federal and state laws pertaining to the mandated services for all UNL students with documented disabilities, including the Americans with Disabilities Act.

E-Mail Sam: ggoodin2@unl.edu

Barbara Woodhead

Assistant Director

Barbara Woodhead

Barbara meets with students to determine eligibility for services and provides follow up, disability – related counseling to students. Support is provided to faculty and instructional staff on disability-related access, classroom accommodations and instructional strategies to promote access to learning. As the Sign Language Interpreter Coordinator, Barbara recruits, schedules and supervises sign language interpreters and handles all interpreter requests at the university for students, faculty, staff, and guests of the University.

E-Mail Barbara: bwoodhead1@unl.edu

Rachel Murray

Disability Specialist

Rachel Murray

Rachel meets with students to determine eligibility for services and provides follow up and disability-related counseling to students. For students who are seeking diagnostic testing, Rachel processes referrals for LD/ADHD evaluations.

E-Mail Rachel: rmurray5@unl.edu

Judy Phelps

Testing Coordinator

Judy Phelps

Judy coordinates and supervises the SSD Testing Center. She meets one on one with students in providing test accommodations requested by students registered with the SSD office. She hires, schedules and supervises the student work support for staff in the SSD Testing Center.

E-Mail Judy: jphelps2@unl.edu

Jen Wagner

Accessibility Specialist

Jen Wagner

Jen coordinates the Alternative Text requests such as Braille and electronic texts. She also supervises and coordinates the Notetaker services.

E-Mail Jen: jwagner6@unl.edu

Melissa Wulf

Assistant Testing Coordinator

Melissa Wulf

Melissa provides the transcription services to D/deaf or hard of hearing students and faculty. She also provides general office support.

E-Mail Melissa: mwulf2@unl.edu

Gina Simanek

Office Associate

Gina Simanek

Gina provides basic support to SSD’s administrative and professional staff, and interacts with prospective and current students, parents, faculty and staff regarding SSD procedures and services. She keeps the office organized and maintained for easy access of student files/records and is readily available to respond to further inquiries regarding services.

E-Mail Gina: gsimanek3@unl.edu

Tressa Copple

Administrative Assistant

Tressa Copple

Tressa supports the SSD directors and handles administrative matters including finances and purchasing, records and equipment management and event coordination. She also provides as-needed front desk support.

E-Mail Tressa: tressa.copple@unl.edu

Thomas W. Beyer

Sign Language Interpreter

Thomas W. Beyer

Thomas provides interpreting services for the D/deaf or hard of hearing students at the university. When needed, Thomas provides services for faculty, staff and university guests.

E-Mail Thomas: tbeyer2@unl.edu