Committees, Officers and Liaisons

* = elected position

Chair's Advisory Committee

Personnel Subcommittee

Tenured and tenure-track members of the Chair's Advisory Committee

Department Conciliator

*Stephen Behrendt (Professor - 2020)

Election/Conciliation Chair

*Maureen Honey (Professor)

Graduate Committee

Appeals Committee

  • *Stephen Ramsay, committee chair (Associate Professor – 2019)
  • *Greg Rutledge (Associate Professor – 2018)
  • *Stephen Behrendt (Professor – 2020)
  • *Madhumita Gupta (Graduate Student Representative – 2018)
  • TBD (Undergraduate Representative – 2018)

Undergraduate Committee

  • Tom Lynch, committee chair (Professor - December 2017)
  • Guy Reynolds (Professor; ex officio; appointed to start as committee chair, spring 2018)
  • Laura White (Professor; ex officio as Literature Coordinator)
  • Timothy Schaffert (Associate Professor; ex officio as Director of Creative Writing)
  • Stacey Waite (Associate Professor; ex officio as Director of Composition and Rhetoric; Shari Stenberg will substitute in fall 2017)
  • *Rachel Azima (Assistant Professor of Practice - 2018)
  • Kelly Payne, Major Advisor (Lecturer; ex officio)
  • Michael Page, Department Scheduler (Lecturer; ex officio)
  • *Matt Whitaker (Graduate Student Representative - 2018)

EGSA Executive Committee

2017-2018 Officers

  • Maureen Daniels, President
  • Ivan Young, Vice President
  • Jonathan Cheng, Co-Event Coordinator
  • Alexandra DeLuise, First-Year Representative
  • Matthew Guzman, Treasurer
  • Mark Houston, First-Year Representative
  • Keshia Mcclantoc, Master's Representative and Co-Event Coordinator
  • Katie McWain, Graduate Committee Representative


  • Chair: Marco Abel (Professor)
  • Vice Chair: Roland Végső (Associate Professor)
  • Graduate Chair: Julia Schleck (Associate Professor)
  • Undergraduate Program Chair: Tom Lynch (Professor)
  • Undergraduate Major Advisor: Kelly Payne (Lecturer)
  • Director of Composition Program: Stacey Waite (Associate Professor)
  • Associate Coordinators of Composition: Stevie Seibert-Desjarlais and Adam Hubrig (Ph.D. students)
  • Director of Writing Center: Rachel Azima (Assistant Professor of Practice)
  • Associate Coordinator of Writing Center: Nicole Green (Ph.D. student)
  • Coordinator of Film Studies: Wheeler Winston Dixon (Professor)
  • Director of Creative Writing: Timothy Schaffert (Associate Professor)
  • Associate Coordinator of Creative Writing: Rachel Cochran
  • Coordinator of Literature: Laura White (Professor)
  • Digital Humanities Liaison: Adrian Wisnicki (Associate Professor)
  • Place Studies Liaison: Tom Lynch (Professor)
  • Placement Advisors: Rachael Wendler Shah (Assistant Professor) and Ng'ang'a Muchiri (Assistant Professor)
  • Contests Committee Chair: Michael Page (Lecturer)
  • Glenna Luschei Editor-in-Chief of Prairie Schooner: Kwame Dawes (Professor)