Snow Elected US CMS Collaboration Board Chair

Photo Credit: Greg Snow
by Amanda Lager Thu, 06/09/2016 - 08:45

Professor Greg Snow of the Department of Physics and Astronomy was elected the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) experiment Collaboration Board Chair for United States institutions. The two-year term began on June 1. As Board Chair, Snow represents the U.S. regarding CMS operations at CERN including the International Management Board.

The U.S. CMS Collaboration membership represents 50 U.S. institutions and over 600 scientists, the single largest national representation on CMS. The Chair plays a critical role in shaping the direction of the U.S. contingent on the experiment.

Snow will also represent U.S.-CMS during reviews and to funding agencies such as the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy.

Snow previously served as the Board's Deputy Chair.

Snow is a member of the Department’s High Energy Physics team, which collaborates on the CMS experiment at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). CMS researchers discovered the Higgs boson in 2012. After upgrades to the collider, researchers have resumed collecting data, even in teams such as Nebraska's construction of new components for the CMS detector. The LHC is operated by CERN in Geneva, Switzerland.