2019-2020 Officers

President: Jesse Osborn
VP: Vida Michelle-Nixon
Treasurer: Jesse Kruse
Secretary: Taylor Billington
Social Coordinator: Mason Rezac

The Society of Physics Students, SPS, is an organization of physics majors that serves as a community to connect undergraduates in the Physics & Astronomy Department. We help the department with outreach events such as Math Day and Behlen Observatory public nights and have social events like movie and pizza nights. Most of the time you'll find us doing our homework or having random, invigorating physics discussions in the SPS room (JH 213). Some of us also eat lunch there (there's a fridge, microwave, and futon - the perfect college storm). Feel free to stop by and hang out!

SPS will meet every Monday from 4:30 - 5:00pm this Spring semester
SPS Students
Ethan Gubbels, Jesse Kruse, and Jesse Osborn (left to right) present physics demonstrations at one of the Behlen Observatory open house nights.

SPS earns 2018-2019 Notable Chapter award from the SPS National Office

"You have earned this moment of recognition. Your combined efforts supported the department, helped further student development, and strengthened the community."
-Brad R. Conrad, Ph.D, Director, Society of Physics Students & Sigma Pi Sigma

SPS National 2019 Outstanding Chapter Awards

SPS Notable Chapter Certificate

All this will not be finished in the first one hundred days... nor will it be finished in the first one thousand days... nor even perhaps in our lifetime on this planet. But let us begin. John F. Kennedy