Our History of Excellence in Teaching

University-Wide Departmental Teaching Award (UDTA)

An UDTA is presented in honor and recognition of a department/unit within NU that has made a unique and significant contribution to the teaching efforts of the University and which has outstanding esprit de corps in its dedication to the education of students.

Department of English (1994)

John E. Weaver and Aaron Douglas Professorships for Teaching Excellence

Established in 2008, these professorships are awarded to faculty holding the full professor rank who demonstrate sustained and extraordinary levels of teaching excellence and national visibility for instructional activities and/or practice.

Robert Brooke (2015)
Laura White (2014)
Stephen Buhler (2010)

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers was established in 1995 to recognize and support the outstanding professors at UNL who are not only experts in their content area but have continuously demonstrated excellent pedagogy in teaching their students, in developing curricula, and in designing new modes of instructional delivery. In 2008, the new John Weaver and Aaron Douglas Professorships of Teaching Excellence were created to honor faculty with sustained records of teaching excellence. At the same time membership in the Academy was closed.

Amy Goodburn (2002)
Joy Ritchie (2000)
Stephen Buhler (1999)
Robert Bergstrom (1995)
Barbara DiBernard (1995)

University of Nebraska Award for Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity (OTICA)

Two OTICA awards are presented each year in honor and recognition of meritorious and sustained records of excellence in teaching and creativity related to teaching to full-time faculty members.

Laura White (2010)
Joy Ritchie (2004)
Barbara DiBernard (2000)
Stephen Buhler (1999)

Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award

The Annis Chaikin Sorensen Award is an annual award presented to recognize an individual for his/her outstanding teaching in the humanities.

Julia Schleck (2017)
Maureen Honey (2016)
Joy Castro (2011)
Laura White (2010)
Debbie Minter (2009)
Nicholas P. Spencer (2008)
Fran Kaye (2007)
Venetria Patton (2003)
Rashmi D. Bhatnagar (2000)
Grace Bauer (1998)
Charles W. Mignon (1993)
Joy Ritchie (1992)
Katherine Ronald (1991)
Stephen Behrendt (1990)
Leslie Whipp (1989)
Moira Ferguson (1987)
Susan J. Rosowski (1986)
James McShane (1985)
Gene Hardy (1982)
Paul Olson (1979)
Bernice Slote (1975)
Wilbur Gaffney (1974)
Robert Hough (1973)

College Distinguished Teaching Award

In 1976, the Nebraska Legislature authorized the presentation of $1,000 stipends to selected faculty members to recognize excellence in teaching. Fifteen awards are available each year and the distribution rotates among the Colleges. 

Kelly Stage (2017)
Stacey Waite (2015)
Peter J. Capuano (2015)
Shari Stenberg (2014)
Roland Vegso (2013)
Stephen Ramsay (2013)
Seanna Sumalee Oakley (2012)
June Griffin (2011)
Julia Schleck (2010)
Debbie Minter (2001 & 2009)
Marco Abel (2008)
Nicholas P. Spencer (2001 & 2008)
Robert Brooke (1996 & 2007)
Tom Gannon (2007)
Amelia MarĂ­a de la Luz Montes (2005)
Gwendolyn Audrey Foster (2004)
Venetria Patton (2003)
Laura White (2003)
Chris Gallagher (2002)
Malea Powell (2002)
Rashmi D. Bhatnagar (2000)
Amy Goodburn (1999)
Gerald Shapiro (1997)
Sharon Harris (1996)
Robert Stock (1996)
Ellen Eggers (1995)
Judith Slater (1994)
Wheeler Winston Dixon (1993)
Robert Narveson (1993)
Fran Kaye (1992)
Stephen Buhler (1991)
Maureen Honey (1991)
Gerry Brookes (1986 & 1990)
Ned Hedges (1990)
Robert Knoll (1968 & 1988)
Linda Ray Pratt (1988)
Barbara DiBernard (1985)
James L. Roberts (1984)
Robert Bergstrom (1983)
June Levine (1981)
Dudley Bailey (1979)
Louis Crompton (1978)
Charles Stubblefield (1978)
Stephen Hilliard (1977)
Roger Welsch (1968)
Ray Frantz (1967)
Thomas Raysor (1958)

Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Education

The Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Education Award honors faculty members whose dedication to graduate students and commitment to excellence in graduate mentoring have made a significant contribution to graduate education at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Grace Bauer (2017)
Maureen Honey (2016)
Jonis Agee (2014)
Sharron Harris (1999)

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

The Office of Graduate Studies recognizes the valuable role that graduate teaching assistants play in enhancing undergraduate learning. The Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award honors graduate teaching assistants who have demonstrated special effectiveness in teaching undergraduates in a variety of settings.

Robert Lipscomb III (2015)
Bobbi Jo Olson (2013)
Susan Martens (2012)
Julie Iromuanya (2010)
Tamy Burnett (2009)